DOE Waste Incidental to Reprocessing Locations

There are seven U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Waste Incidental to Reprocessing (WIR) Locations. As defined in Section 3116 of the Ronald W. Reagan National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2005 (NDAA), only DOE sites in Idaho and South Carolina are under the NDAA, so only Idaho and South Carolina are NDAA-Covered States. All other states are non-NDAA states. The NRC does not have regulatory or enforcement authority over DOE at any WIR location in any state.

Uranium Hexafluoride Production (Conversion) Facility NON-NDAA WIR Locations Uranium Recovery Facility NDAA WIR Locations

Name Location
Hanford Waste Management Area-C (HANF WMA-C) Richland, Washington
Hanford Vitrified Low Activity Waste Disposal (HANF VLAW) Richland, Washington
Idaho National Laboratory Calcined Solids Storage Facility (INL CSSF) Butte County, Idaho
Idaho National Laboratory Idaho Nuclear Technical and Engineering Center Tank Farm Facility (INL INTEC TFF) Butte County, Idaho
Savannah River Site Saltstone Disposal Facility (SRS SDF) Aiken, South Carolina
Savannah River Site Tank Farms (SRS TFs) Aiken, South Carolina
West Valley Components West Valley, New York

Page Last Reviewed/Updated Wednesday, February 07, 2024