Combined License Holders for New Reactors

Currently, there are five licensees with Combined Licenses (COLs) for 8 new reactor units. Two COLs were issued to Southern Nuclear Operating Company and its financial partners on February 10, 2012, for Vogtle Electric Generating Plant Units 3 and 4. One COL was issued to DTE Electric Company on May 1, 2015, for the Enrico Fermi Nuclear Plant Unit 3. Two COLs were issued to Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC on December 19, 2016, for William States Lee III Nuclear Station Units 1 and 2. One COL was issued to Virginia Electric and Power Company on June 2, 2017, for the North Anna Unit 3. Two COLs were issued to Florida Power & Light Company on April 12, 2018, for Turkey Point Units 6 and 7.

After issuance of COLs, three licensees requested to have their licenses terminated by the NRC. Two COLs issued to South Carolina Electric & Gas and its financial partner on March 30, 2012, for Virgil C. Summer Nuclear Station Units 2 and 3 were terminated on March 6, 2019. Two COLs issued to South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company on February 12, 2016, for South Texas Project Units 3 and 4 were terminated on July 12, 2018. Two COLs issued to Duke Energy Florida, LLC on October 26, 2016, for Levy Nuclear Plant Units 1 and 2 were terminated on April 26, 2018.