United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission - Protecting People and the Environment

Locations of Uranium Recovery Sites Undergoing Decommissioning

To provide for the disposal, long-term stabilization and control of uranium mill tailings in a safe and environmentally sound manner, and to minimize or eliminate radiation health hazards to the public, Congress enacted the Uranium Mill Tailings Radiation Control Act of 1978 (UMTRCA). Under Title I of the UMTRCA, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) or the pertinent State is responsible for cleanup and remediation, as well as long-term care and maintenance of Title I disposal and processing sites, under a general license from the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC). The NRC, in turn, is required to evaluate the design and implementation established by DOE or the pertinent State and, following remediation, to concur that the site meets the standards established by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Title 10, Section 40.27, of the Code of Federal Regulations (10 CFR 40.27), "General License for Custody and Long-Term Care of Residual Radioactive Material Disposal Sites," is the governing regulation for these abandoned disposal sites. See the Title I site status summaries for additional detail.

Title II of the UMTRCA addresses uranium recovery operations, some of which have substantial quantities of tailings, at sites that are licensed by the NRC or its Agreement States. Title II amended the definition of byproduct material to include mill tailings, and added specific authorities for the NRC to regulate this new category of byproduct material at licensed sites, which include conventional uranium mills and in situ recovery (ISR) facilities. The NRC's Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards (NMSS) provides project management and technical review for decommissioning and reclamation of these Title II facilities, which are regulated under Appendix A to 10 CFR Part 40. Of the 22 Title II uranium recovery sites that are currently decommissioning, 11 are regulated by the NRC, and 11 are regulated by Agreement States. The following map depicts the locations of these Title II sites, while the tables below the map identify the NRC-regulated and Agreement State-regulated Title II sites and provide links to their descriptions, which include site status summaries, any major technical or regulatory issues, and the estimated date for closure of each site. For more information, see Uranium Mill Tailings or contact us if you have any questions or comments.

Uranium Recovery Sites Uranium Recovery Sites  

NRC-Regulated Uranium Recovery Sites Undergoing Decommissioning

Name Location
American Nuclear Corporation Gas Hills Mining District, WY
Bear Creek Powder River Basin, WY
ExxonMobil Highlands Converse County, WY
Homestake Grants, NM
Pathfinder – Lucky MC Gas Hills Mining District, WY
Pathfinder – Shirley Basin Mills, WY
Rio Algom – Ambrosia Lake Grants, NM
Sequoyah Fuels Corporation Gore, OK
Umetco Minerals Corporation Gas Hills, WY
United Nuclear Corporation Gallup, NM
Western Nuclear Inc. – Split Rock Jeffrey City, WY

To top of page

Agreement State-Regulated Uranium Recovery Sites Undergoing Decommissioning

The site descriptions (site status summaries, major technical or regulatory issues, and estimated closure dates) for the following sites were provided by the respective Agreement States, and the NRC makes no claim regarding the validity of that information.

Name Location
ConocoPhillips Company Falls City, TX
Cotter Uranium Mill Canyon City, CO
Cotter Schwartzwalder Mine Golden, CO
Dawn Mining Company Ford, WA
Everest Exploration, Inc. Hobson and Dinero, TX
ExxonMobil Corporation Three Rivers, TX
Hecla Mining Company – Durita Naturita, CO
Intercontinental Energy Corporation Three Rivers, TX
Rio Algom Uranium Mill San Juan County, UT
Rio Grande Resources Corporation Hobson, TX
Umetco Uravan Uravan, CO

To top of page

Page Last Reviewed/Updated Tuesday, January 10, 2017