Locations of Power Reactor Sites Undergoing Decommissioning

The NRC's Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards (NMSS) has project management responsibilities for 21 power reactors undergoing decommissioning. Additionally, the NRC's Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation currently has project management responsibility for 2 power reactors that have permanently ceased operations: Pilgrim and Three Mile Island Unit 1.


Power Reactor Sites Undergoing Decommissioning

Name Location
Crystal River – Unit 3 Crystal River, FL
Dresden – Unit 1 Morris, IL
Duane Arnold Palo, IA
Fermi – Unit 1 Newport, MI
Fort Calhoun Fort Calhoun, NE
General Electric Co. – ESADA Vallecitos Experimental Superheat Reactor (EVESR) Sunol, CA
General Electric Co. – Vallecitos Boiling Water Reactor (VBWR) Sunol, CA
Indian Point – Unit 1 Buchanan, NY
Indian Point – Unit 2 Buchanan, NY
Indian Point – Unit 3 Buchanan, NY
Kewaunee Kewaunee, WI
Millstone – Unit 1 Waterford, CT
Nuclear Ship Savannah Baltimore, MD
Oyster Creek Forked River, NJ
Palisades Covert, MI
Peach Bottom – Unit 1 Delta, PA
Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station Plymouth, MA
San Onofre – Unit 1 San Clemente, CA
San Onofre – Units 2 & 3 San Clemente, CA
Three Mile Island – Unit 1 Middletown, PA
Three Mile Island – Unit 2 Middletown, PA
Vermont Yankee Vernon, VT
Zion – Units 1 & 2 Zion, IL