NARM Toolbox: Agreement States That Have Provided Governor Certifications

The NRC received certifications from 35 Agreement State governors which document that their State has a program for licensing byproduct material, as defined in paragraph (3) or (4) of Section 11e. of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended, (AEA) which is adequate to protect public health and safety, and that the State intends to continue to implement their authority with respect to the new byproduct material.

The certifications from the following 35 States are available for review in ADAMS:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arizona
  3. Arkansas
  4. California
  5. Colorado
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Iowa
  9. Illinois
  10. Kansas
  11. Kentucky
  12. Louisiana
  13. Maryland
  14. Maine
  15. Massachusetts
  16. Minnesota
  17. Mississippi
  18. Nebraska
  19. New Hampshire
  20. New Mexico
  21. Nevada
  22. New York
  23. North Carolina
  24. North Dakota
  25. Ohio
  26. Oklahoma
  27. Oregon
  28. Pennsylvania
  29. Rhode Island
  30. South Carolina
  31. Tennessee
  32. Texas
  33. Utah
  34. Washington
  35. Wisconsin

Effective on November 30, 2007, the waivers, as authorized to the Commission by 651(e) of the Energy Policy Act of 2005, for all 34 Agreement States were terminated. The Agreements entered into between the Commission and each of these States under Section 274b. of the AEA, are now considered to also include the byproduct materials in Sections11e.(3) and (4).