Safety Evaluation Report for the Eagle Rock Enrichment Facility in Bonneville County, Idaho (NUREG-1951)

On this page:

Download complete document

Publication Information

Manuscript Completed:  September 2010
Date Published:  September 2010

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555-0001

Availability Notice


This report documents the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff's review and safety and safeguards evaluation of AREVA Enrichment Services LLC's (AES's) application for a license to construct a gas centrifuge uranium enrichment facility and possess and use byproduct material, source material, and special nuclear material (SNM). The proposed facility is known as the Eagle Rock Enrichment Facility (EREF). AES proposes that the EREF be located in Bonneville County, Idaho, about 32 kilometers (20 miles) west northwest of the city of Idaho Falls. The EREF will possess natural, depleted, and enriched uranium, and will be authorized to enrich uranium up to a maximum of 5 weight percent uranium-235.

The objective of the NRC's review is to evaluate the facility's potential adverse impacts on worker and public health and safety, under both normal operating and accident conditions. The review also considers physical protection of SNM and classified matter; material control and accounting of SNM; and the management organization, administrative programs, and financial qualifications provided to ensure safe design and operation of the facility.

The NRC staff concludes, in this safety evaluation report, that the applicant's descriptions, specifications, and analyses provide an adequate basis for safety and safeguards of facility operations—and that operation of the facility does not pose an undue risk to worker and public health and safety.

Potential environmental impacts associated with the proposed facility and its reasonable alternatives will be addressed in a separate NRC document, the Final Environmental Impact Statement, which is expected to be issued in February 2011.

Page Last Reviewed/Updated Tuesday, March 09, 2021