Proceedings of the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards Safety Culture Workshop: June 12, 2003(NUREG/CP-0183)

On this page:

Download complete document

Publication Information

Manuscript Completed: November 2003
Date Published:
November 2003

Proceedings Edited by:
Medhat M. El-Zeftawy, Senior Staff Engineer

Proceedings Prepared by:
Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555-0001

Availability Notice


The Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) held a workshop on June 12, 2003, regarding safety culture at nuclear power plants. Topics discussed by the industry and the NRC staff included: initiatives, methodologies, guidelines, and adopted approaches for safety culture; effective criteria for evaluating safety culture; assessing the rigors of safety culture programs; and the implications on the safe operation of nuclear power plants. Specific objectives for the workshop included gathering information on domestic and international activities, and determining the attributes of effective safety culture. The workshop was organized into two panels. One panel discussed the collective understanding of safety culture, and the other panel discussed the attributes of safety culture.

The morning panel presenters included Mr. Ashok Thadani, Director of the NRC Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research; Mr. Charles Dugger, Vice President, Nuclear Operations-Nuclear Energy Institute; Dr. Thomas Murley, Safety consultant; Mr. Howard Whitcomb, Ill, Attorney at Law; Mr. William N. Keisler, Nuclear Maintenance Integration Consultants; Mr. David Collins, Engineering Analyst; and Mr. Alan Price, Vice President, Dominion Nuclear Connecticut.

The afternoon panel presenters included Mr. David Trimble, NRC staff; Ms. Clare Goodman, NRC staff; Mr. George Felgate, Institute of Nuclear Power Operations; Mr. Lew Meyers, Chief Operating Officer- First Energy Nuclear Operating Co.; Mr. Jack Grobe, NRC/Davis-Besse Oversight panel; Mr. Geoff Wright, NRC- Inspection team leader; Mr. William O'Connor, Vice President Nuclear Generation- Detroit Edison; and Ms. Sonja B. Haber, Human Performance Analysis Corporation.

The Committee plans to continue following-up on the progress of this matter during future meetings.

Page Last Reviewed/Updated Wednesday, March 24, 2021