Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)

A specialized agency within the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), which was created to assist its Member countries in maintaining and further developing the scientific, technological, and legal bases for safe, environmentally friendly, and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. The NEA's current membership consists of 31 countries in Europe, North America, and the Asia-Pacific region, which account for approximately 86% of the world's installed nuclear capacity.

Page Last Reviewed/Updated Tuesday, March 09, 2021