Categories of fuel facilities

The NRC classifies special nuclear materials and the facilities that possess them into three categories based upon the materials' potential for use in nuclear weapons, or their "strategic significance." The three categories are:

  • Category I: High strategic significance;
  • Category II: Moderate strategic significance; and
  • Category III: Low strategic significance.

The NRC's physical security requirements differ by category, with Category I facilities subject to more stringent requirements.

Page Last Reviewed/Updated Tuesday, March 09, 2021