United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission - Protecting People and the Environment
Home > NRC Library > Document Collections > News Releases [an error occurred while processing this directive] > I-01-021

NRC Prehearing Conference Scheduled for Haddam Neck Nuclear Power Plant

NRC Seal

Office of Public Affairs, Region I
475 Allendale Road, King of Prussia, Pa. 19406

No. I-01-021   April 20, 2001
CONTACT: Diane Screnci (610) 337-5330
Neil A. Sheehan (610) 337-5331
E-mail: OPA1.Resource@nrc.gov


An Atomic Safety and Licensing Board has scheduled a prehearing conference April 24 in Cromwell, Conn., in a licensing proceeding concerning the decommissioning of the Haddam Neck nuclear power plant in Haddam Neck, Conn. The plant, which was permanently shut down in December 1996, was operated by the Connecticut Yankee Atomic Power Company.

This proceeding involves petitions for intervention filed on January 10 by the Citizen's Awareness Network (CAN) and on January 12 by the Connecticut Department of Public Utility Controls, challenging the amendment request.

The conference, which is open to the public for observation, will begin at 9:30 a.m. at the Radisson Hotel and Conference Center, 100 Berlin Road, Route 372, Cromwell, Conn.

The board will hear oral argument from lawyers and other participants in the case on legal issues and contentions only. However, because of recent requests that the public be permitted to make "limited appearance statements," every effort will be made to accommodate such public participation in any future proceedings in the case.

On January 7, 2000, Connecticut Yankee requested a license amendment that would approve the License Termination Plan (LTP) it submitted to the NRC. Granting of that amendment would approve the license termination plan and allow the company to make changes to the approved plan without prior NRC approval, provided certain criteria specified in the license condition are met.

The following Administrative Judges from the NRC's Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel are members of this Licensing Board: Ann Marshall Young, Chair; Dr. Peter S. Lam; and Thomas D. Murphy.

Page Last Reviewed/Updated Friday, August 07, 2015