United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission - Protecting People and the Environment

Morning Report for June 25, 2004

Headquarters Daily Report

To top of page


FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company (FENOC) Announces Management Changes


Dockets: 05000346
[1] B&W-L-LP
License No:

MR Number: 3-2004-0032
Date: 06/25/2004

Licensee Announcement


FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company (FENOC) announced the completion of the first phase of a major reorganization with the naming of vice-presidents, directors, managers, and superintendents across all three FENOC sites: Beaver Valley, Davis-Besse, and Perry. A new department, Performance Improvement, was added at the stations and the scope of the operations department was expanded. The reorganization is planned to be fully implemented by mid-August.

Three senior executives and six directors will be headquartered in Akron (*indicates a change from previous position):

• Joe Hagan, Senior Vice President, Fleet Engineering and Support Services
• Lew Myers, Chief Operating Officer
• Jeannie Rinckel, Vice President, Oversight*
• Paul Busby, Director, Fleet Business Strategies
• Tom Mahon, Director, Nuclear Security*
• Jim Powers, Director, Fleet Engineering*
• Bill Kanda, Director, Organizational Effectiveness*
•Vito Kaminskas, Director, Operations Support which includes the BETA Lab, Fleet Radiation Protection and
. Fleet Outage Management
• George Kuehn, Director of the Three Mile Island Saxton plants, is located at those sites.

At the stations, Bill Pearce and Mark Bezilla will continue in their current roles as vice presidents of Beaver Valley and Davis-Besse, respectively. In addition to his position as chief operating officer, Lew Myers will serve as interim vice president at Perry. Each station will have three directors instead of four, with titles and responsibilities as follows:

• Director, Plant Operations, which has been expanded to include the areas of Operations, Maintenance,
. Chemistry, Radiation Protection, Outage Management and Work Management. Those directors are: Jim Lash,
. Beaver Valley; Barry Allen, Davis-Besse; Fred vonAhn, Perry.

• Director, Performance Improvement, which includes the areas of Training, Regulatory Compliance and Special
. Projects. Those directors are: Rick Mende, Beaver Valley; Bob Schrauder, Davis-Besse; and John Messina,
. Perry.

• Director, Station Engineering, which includes Plant & Equipment Reliability, Design Engineering and Programs &
. Technical Services. Those directors are: Tom Cosgrove, Beaver Valley; Steve Loehlein, Davis-Besse; and Tom
. Lentz, Perry.

• The Director of Maintenance position has been designated as Manager of Maintenance.

Regional Action: Information Only.

Accession Numbers:

Accession No Accession Date
ML041770575 06/25/2004


Name Office Abbrev Phone No E-Mail
LIPA, C A R3 (630) 829-9619 CAL@nrc.gov
Page Last Reviewed/Updated Thursday, March 29, 2012