United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission - Protecting People and the Environment

ACCESSION #: 9512050143

Cooper Cameron Corporation


Reciprocating Products Division

150 Lincoln Avenue

Grove City, PA 16127-1898

412 458-8000

November 28, 1995                            COOPER

                                                  Cooper Energy Services

Our Ref: QCG-10236

Document Control Desk

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Washington, D.C. 20555

Dear Sir:

In accordance with the requirements of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Title 10, Chapter 1, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 21, Cooper-

Bessemer Reciprocating Products Division, a division of Cooper Cameron

Corporation, hereby notifies the Commission of a potential design defect

of the KSV emergency diesel generator (EDG) system.

On November 6, 1995, Braidwood Station reported that during maintenance

activities excessive wear and rust was noted in the upper portion of the

governor drive assembly (Assembly No. KSV-17-6).  On November 7, 1995,

Braidwood reported that the oil inlet hole in the top flange of the

bearing retainer did not appear to extend through to the inside of the

flange.  The report indicated this was due to a sleeve repair of the bore

blocking the oil hole.

Lack of oil in this area could result in failure of this assembly

resulting in EDG inoperability.  Due to the potential of this defect and

the ease of verification, it is recommended that all utilities verify an

open oil passage in this assembly (see attachment).

This assembly is installed on all Cooper-Bessemer KSV EDG's (except Zion

and Cooper Nuclear Stations).  Similar assemblies for these stations are

KSV-17-1 (Zion and Cooper Nuclear), KSV-17-2 (Zion), and KSV-17-5 (Cooper

Nuclear).  It is also recommended that all utilities use the same

procedures to verify the similar overspeed governor and drive assembly


Cooper-Bessemer [Registered Trademark] o Enterprise [Trademark] o

Penn [Trademark] o Ajax [Registered Trademark] o Superior [Registered


Page 2

November 22, 1995


If you have questions concerning this report, please contact Andrew P.

Steffan, Supervisor, Nuclear Support at 412-458-3455 or John M. Horne,

Manager, Nuclear and Analytical Engineering at 412-458-3543.



J. D. Mowery

Vice President and General Manager



cc:  D. T. Blizzard - CES/GC

     J. M Horne - CES/GC

     A. D. Gillette - CES/GC

     M. A. Schleigh - CES/GC

     P. J. Shimek- CES/GC

     L. T. Stewart - CES/GC

     A. P. Steffan - CES/GC

     File: K5fa36

Page 3

November 22, 1995


Copies to:

Mr. Walter Haass                   Mr. Doug Mullen

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Nebraska Public Power District

One White Flint North              Cooper Nuclear Station

Washington, DC 20555               P. O. Box 98

                                   Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Mr. Gary Hunt

Houston Lighting and Power         Mr. Terry O'Brien

South Texas Project                Commonwealth Edison Co.

Wadsworth, TX 77483                1400 Opus Place

                                   Downers Grove, IL 60515

Mr. James Kenny

Licensing Group Supervisor         Mr. Lenny Schiavone

Pennsylvania Power and Light       Niagara Mohawk Power Corp.

Two North Ninth Street Annex 2     301 Plainfield Road

Allentown, PA 18101                North Syracuse, NY 13212

Mr. Matthew Heidorn                Ms. Kathleen Russo

Pennsylvania Power and Light       Niagara Mohawk Power Corp.

Susquehanna Steam Electric Station Nine Mile Road - Unit 2

P. O. Box 467                      P. O. Box 63

Berwick, PA 18603                  Lycoming, NY 13093

Mr. Terence Bannon                 Mr. Neil Thibodaux

Nuclear Regulatory Affairs A2-4    Arizona Public Service

Pennsylvania Power and Light       Palo Verde Nuclear Generating Station

2 North Ninth Street               P. O. Box 52034  Mail Station 7566

Allentown, PA 18101                Phoeniz, AZ 85072-2034

Mr. David Baran                    Mr. Thomas Bradish

Commonwealth Edison Co.            Manager, Nuclear Regulatory Affairs

Byron Nuclear Power Station        Arizona Public Service

4450 North German Church Rd.       P. O. Box 52034  Mail Station 7636

Byron, IL 61010                    Phoeniz, AZ 85072-2034

Mr. Michael Kneble                 Mr. Terry Vandevoort

EnTergy Associates                 Commonwealth Edison

Louisiana Power and Light          Zion Generating Station

Waterford 3 SES                    101 Shiloh Blvd.

Highway 18                         Zion, IL 60099

Taft, LA 70006

Mr. Dave Gustafson                 Mr. Arthur G. Killinger

Commonwealth Edison Co.            MPR Associates, Inc.

Braidwood Nuclear Power Station    320 King Street

Tech Staff Electrical Group        Alexandria, VA 22314-3238

Route 1, Box 84

Braceville, IL 60407


                                                  Attachment 1

Figure omitted.

Remove oil line and verify "through" hole using wire or similar object.


Page Last Reviewed/Updated Wednesday, February 12, 2020