Electric power grid

A system of synchronized power providers and consumers, connected by transmission and distribution lines and operated by one or more control centers. In the continental United States, the electric power grid consists of three systems–the Eastern Interconnect, the Western Interconnect, and the Texas Interconnect. In Alaska and Hawaii, several systems encompass areas smaller than the State.

Page Last Reviewed/Updated Tuesday, March 09, 2021