United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission - Protecting People and the Environment

Locations of Power Reactor Sites Undergoing Decommissioning

There are 24 power plants in decommissioning status. The NRC's Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards (NMSS) has project management responsibilities for 23 power reactors undergoing decommissioning.  Additionally, the NRC's Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation currently has project management responsibility for Indian Point Unit 2 power reactor that recently permanently ceased operations.

Power Reactors Power Reactors Printable Map

Power Reactor Sites Undergoing Decommissioning

Name Location
Crystal River – Unit 3 Crystal River, FL
Dresden – Unit 1 Morris, IL
Fermi – Unit 1 Newport, MI
Fort Calhoun Fort Calhoun, NE
General Electric Co. – ESADA Vallecitos Experimental Superheat Reactor (EVESR) Sunol, CA
General Electric Co. – Vallecitos Boiling Water Reactor (VBWR) Sunol, CA
Humboldt Bay Eureka, CA
Indian Point – Unit 1 Buchanan, NY
Indian Point – Unit 2 Buchanan, NY
Kewaunee Kewaunee, WI
LaCrosse Boiling Water Reactor Genoa, WI
Millstone – Unit 1 Waterford, CT
Nuclear Ship Savannah Baltimore, MD
Oyster Creek Forked River, NJ
Peach Bottom – Unit 1 Delta, PA
Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station Plymouth, MA
San Onofre – Unit 1 San Clemente, CA
San Onofre – Units 2 & 3 San Clemente, CA
Three Mile Island – Unit 1 Middletown, PA
Three Mile Island – Unit 2 Middletown, PA
Vermont Yankee Vernon, VT
Zion – Units 1 & 2 Zion, IL

(To top of page)

Page Last Reviewed/Updated Friday, August 21, 2020