

No: 20-031 CONTACT: Office of Public Affairs, 301-415-8200 June 8, 2020

Christopher T. Hanson Sworn in as NRC Commissioner



Christopher T. Hanson was sworn in today by NRC Chairman Kristine L. Svinicki as the fifth NRC Commissioner. Hanson was nominated by President Donald J. Trump and confirmed by the U.S. Senate to serve the remainder of a five-year term expiring June 30, 2024. Hanson will begin serving his term immediately.

Hanson has more than two decades of government and privatesector experience in the fields of nuclear energy. Prior to joining the NRC, he served as a staff member on the Senate Appropriations Committee.

Before working in the Senate, Hanson served as a senior advisor in the Department of Energy's Office of Nuclear Energy. He also served as a consultant at Booz Allen Hamilton, where he led multiple engagements for government and industry.

Hanson earned master's degrees from Yale Divinity School and Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, where he focused on ethics and natural resource economics. He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Religious Studies from Valparaiso University in Valparaiso, Ind.

The NRC is comprised of five Commissioners, one of whom is designated by the President as Chairman. The Commission was established to be a collegial body that formulates policies, develops regulations, issues orders to licensees and adjudicates legal matters. The Commissioners serve five-year terms, with one term expiring every year on June 30. No more than three Commissioners may be of the same political party.