February 4, 2008

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Madam Speaker:

Enclosed is the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) Fiscal Year 2009 Performance Budget. Our performance budget is provided in accordance with the Government Performance and Results Act of 1993 and reflects our continuing progress in implementing the Act.

The NRC will be separately submitting a Proposed Bill for Authorization of Appropriations for Fiscal Year 2009 in support of our budget estimates.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Dale E. Klein

Enclosure: As stated

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Richard B. Cheney President of the United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air
and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator George V. Voinovich

The Honorable Barbara Boxer
Chairman, Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator James M. Inhofe

The Honorable Rick Boucher
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Air Quality
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable John D. Dingell Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Joe Barton

The Honorable Byron Dorgan
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator Pete V. Domenici

The Honorable Peter J. Visclosky
Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy
and Water Development
Committee on Appropriations
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative David L. Hobson

The Honorable Joseph I. Lieberman Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Susan M. Collins

The Honorable Henry A. Waxman Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Tom Davis

The Honorable Kent Conrad Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Judd Gregg

The Honorable John M. Spratt, Jr. Chairman, Committee on the Budget United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Paul Ryan

The Honorable Jeff Bingaman Chairman, Committee on Energy and National Resources United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Pete V. Domenici The Honorable Edolphus Towns
Chairman, Subcommittee on Government
Management, Organization, and Procurement
Committee on Oversight and Government Reform
United States House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515
cc: Representative Brian Bilbray

The Honorable Jim Nussle Director Office of Management and Budget Washington, D.C. 20503