February 15, 2008

The Honorable Richard B. Cheney President of the United States Senate United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Mr. President:

I am pleased to present to you the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) Strategic Plan for Fiscal Years 2008-2013. The Strategic Plan describes our mission and establishes our strategic direction by defining the goals and outcomes we intend to pursue.

This Strategic Plan addresses important changes in the use of radioactive materials that are taking place in the United States and abroad. For example, the NRC has begun to receive applications to construct and operate the new generation of nuclear power plants, the first such applications since the 1970's. This is an enormous challenge for the agency, but one which we are well positioned to address. In addition, the agency anticipates receiving an application from the Department of Energy to construct and operate a high-level waste repository to dispose of high-level radioactive waste during the time period covered by the plan. The Strategic Plan describes how the NRC will address these and other challenges over the next several years.

The Commission is confident that the clear strategic direction provided by this plan, combined with the hard work and dedication of its employees, will result in the agency accomplishing its mission for the American people.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Dale E. Klein

Enclosure: As stated

<u>Identical letter sent to:</u>

The Honorable Richard B. Cheney President of the United States Senate United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Joseph I. Lieberman, Chairman Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Susan Collins

The Honorable Byron Dorgan, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Pete V. Domenici

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper, Chairman Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator George V. Voinovich

The Honorable John D. Dingell, Chairman Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Representative Joe Barton

The Honorable Henry Waxman, Chairman Committee on Oversight and Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Tom Davis

The Honorable Peter J. Visclosky, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative David L. Hobson The Honorable Rick Boucher, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Air Quality Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Fred Upton

The Honorable Edolphus Towns, Chairman Subcommittee on Government Management, Organization and Procurement Committee on Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Brian Bilbray

The Honorable Barbara Boxer
Chairman, Committee on Environment
and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator James M. Inhofe