Marc Dapas

Marc Dapas, a 27-year veteran of the NRC, began serving as the new director of the Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards in July 2016. He succeeds Catherine Haney, who left in January to become the Regional Administrator for the NRC’s Region II Office in Atlanta.

Dapas began his NRC career in 1989 as an Operations Engineer in the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation, and three years later began his progression through a number of increasingly responsible positions in the NRC's Region III office outside of Chicago.

In 1998, Dapas joined the Senior Executive Service, and led a program to provide for the effective regulatory oversight of 18 operating reactor facilities in the NRC’s Region III Office. In 2002, he took over leadership of the materials program in that region. Three years later, he became the Deputy Regional Administrator for the NRC’s Region I Office outside of Philadelphia, where he helped lead that office's oversight of both reactors and materials licensees in the Northeast.

Dapas returned to NRC headquarters in 2011 as Deputy Director for the Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response. In that important role, he provided critical leadership of the NRC's oversight of security policy for both nuclear facilities and users of radioactive materials, as well as maintained the NRC emergency preparedness and incident response programs.

In 2013, Dapas became the Regional Administrator in the NRC's Region IV Office outside of Dallas, where he was responsible for the safety and security regulatory oversight of 19 operating reactors, as well as the licensing and inspection functions for over 600 materials licensees.

Dapas received a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering from the U.S. Naval Academy and served on active duty in the U.S. Navy's nuclear power submarine program. After leaving active duty to join the NRC, Dapas continued his military service as a member of the Navy Reserve, retiring in 2012 after 30 years of service.

Page Last Reviewed/Updated Friday, June 09, 2017