

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

## REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

November 15, 1999

## NOTICE OF LICENSEE MEETING

Name of Licensee:

Nebraska Public Power District

Omaha Public Power District

Name of Facility:

Cooper Nuclear Station

Fort Calhoun Station

Docket:

50-285

50-298

Date and Time of Meeting:

----

December 1, 1999 1 - 3 p.m. (CDT)

Location of Meeting:

Fort Calhoun Station Auditorium

Hwy. 75 - North of Fort Calhoun

Fort Calhoun, Nebraska

Purpose of Meeting:

Discussion of the licensee's perceptions and lessons learned from

the pilot inspection program

NRC Attendees:

K. Brockman, Director, Division of Reactor Projects

C. Marschall, Chief, Branch C, Division of Reactor Projects

A. Madison, Transition Task Force Leader, Office of

**Nuclear Reactor Regulation** 

W. Jones, Senior Reactor Analyst, Division of Reactor Safety

L. Wharton, FCS Project Manager, Office of

**Nuclear Reactor Regulation** 

L. Burkhart, CNS Project Manager, Office of

**Nuclear Reactor Regulation** 

D. Loveless, Senior Project Engineer, Branch C, Division of

**Reactor Projects** 

Licensee Attendees:

W. Gary Gates, Vice President, Fort Calhoun Station

S. Gambhir, Division Manager, Nuclear Operations

J. Chase, Division Manager, Nuclear Assessments

M. Tesar, Division, Manager, Nuclear Support Services

R. Phelps, Division Manager, Nuclear Engineering

J. Solymossy, Manager, Fort Calhoun Station

M. Frans, Manager, Nuclear Licensing

R. Jaworski, Manager, Revised Reactor Oversight Project

B. Hansher, Supervisor, Station Licensing

- H. Hackerott, Supervisor, Systems Analysis
- J. McDonald, Plant Manager, Cooper Nuclear Station
- P. Caudill. General Manager, Technical Services
- G. Smith, Nuclear Projects Manager
- J. Sumpter, Licensing Supervisor
- D. Robinson, QA Assessment Manager
- R. Wachowiak, Risk Management Supervisor

## NOTE:

- (1) This meeting is open to attendance by members of the general public.
- (2) NRC personnel, not listed above, that desire to attend this meeting should notify C. S. Marschall at 817/860-8185 by COB on November 19, 1999.
- (3) A comment session will be conducted at the end of the meeting for participation of all Region IV operating reactor licensees.

Approved By:

Charles S . Marschall, Chief

Project Branch C

**Division of Reactor Projects** 

cc:

G. R. Horn, Senior Vice President of Energy Supply Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, Nebraska 68601

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

B. L. Houston, Nuclear Licensing and Safety ManagerNebraska Public Power DistrictP.O. Box 98Brownville, Nebraska 68321 Nebraska Public Power District Omaha Public Power District

Dr. William D. Leech Manager - Nuclear MidAmerican Energy 907 Walnut Street P.O. Box 657 Des Moines, Iowa 50303-0657

Ron Stoddard Lincoln Electric System 1040 O Street P.O. Box 80869 Lincoln, Nebraska 68501-0869

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Chairman
Nemaha County Board of Commissioners
Nemaha County Courthouse
1824 N Street
Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Cheryl K. Rogers, Program Manager Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Director of Intergovernmental Cooperation Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, Missouri 65101 Nebraska Public Power District Omaha Public Power District

Vick L. Cooper, Chief Radiation Control Program, RCP Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation Forbes Field Building 283 Topeka, Kansas 66620

Mark T. Frans, Manager Nuclear Licensing Omaha Public Power District Fort Calhoun Station FC-2-4 Adm. P.O. Box 399 Hwy. 75 - North of Fort Calhoun Fort Calhoun, Nebraska 68023-0399

James W. Chase, Division Manager Nuclear Assessments Fort Calhoun Station P.O. Box 399 Fort Calhoun, Nebraska 68023

J. M. Solymossy, Manager - Fort Calhoun Station Omaha Public Power District Fort Calhoun Station FC-1-1 Plant P.O. Box 399 Hwy. 75 - North of Fort Calhoun Fort Calhoun, Nebraska 68023

Perry D. Robinson, Esq. Winston & Strawn 1400 L. Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005-3502

Chairman
Washington County Board of Supervisors
Washington County Courthouse
P.O. Box 466
Blair, Nebraska 68008

Cheryl K. Rogers, Program Manager Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007 Nebraska Public Power District Omaha Public Power District

bcc:

**DMB (IE45)** 

OEDO RIV Coordinator (16E15)

**ORA File RIV** File

E-Mail To:

( )

**NRC Attendees** 

**PMNS** 

Mta Announcement Coordinator

PAB

**DEDR** 

**FJM BWS**  A/D/NRR

BAB2

Acting, ADT/NRR Acting ADP/NRR

LJB LRW

L. Burkhart, Project Manager, NRR R. Wharton, Project Manager, NRR

**OEMAIL** 

D/OE

**WCW JAC** 

W. Walker, Senior Resident Inspector J. Clark, Senior Resident Inspector

CAH **GFS** 

C. Hackney, RSLO G. Sanborn, EO B. Henderson, PAO

**BWH** JAC1, CJG LAT, DLF,LJB1

**RA** Secretaries **DRP Division DRS** Division

CLG, LMB, NLH CMS, JAK, NSL

**DNMS Division** Dean Papa

**PDP LPL** 

P. Longdo

DOCUMENT NAME: R:\\_CNS\CN12-1MN.DRP and R:\\_FCS\FC12-1MN.DRP

To receive copy of document, indicate in box: "C" = Copy without enclosures "E" = Copy with enclosures "N" = No copy

RIV:DRP/C	С	PAO	С	RSLO		<u></u>	l		<u> </u>
CSMarschall:vlh		BWHenderson		CAHackney				 	
11/15/99		11/15/99		11/15/99					