# ON THE OWNER OF THE OWNER OF THE OWNER OF THE OWNER OF THE OWNER O

# UNITED STATES

### NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

### **REGION IV**

## 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

October 19, 1999

J. H. Swailes, Vice President of Nuclear Energy Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

SUBJECT: COOPER NUCLEAR STATION SAFEGUARDS PLAN, REVISION 37

Dear Mr. Swailes:

This acknowledges the receipt of your letter dated September 20, 1999, by which you transmitted Revision 37 to the Cooper Nuclear Station Safeguards Plan for your facility.

Based on your determination that the changes do not decrease the effectiveness of your training and qualification plan and after limited review of the changes, no NRC approval is required in accordance with 50.54(p). Implementation of these changes will be subject to inspection to confirm that the changes have not decreased the effectiveness of your security plan.

The enclosure(s) to your letter contain safeguards information of a type specified in 10 CFR 73.21 and will be withheld from public disclosure.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the Commission's regulations, a copy of this letter, without the enclosures, will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

Should you have any questions concerning this letter, please contact Mr. Tom Dexter of my staff at (817) 860-8235.

Sincerely,

/s/

Gail M. Good, Chief Plant Support Branch Division of Reactor Safety

Docket No.: 50-298 License No.: DPR-46 CC:

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

G. R. Horn, Senior Vice President of Entergy SupplyNebraska Public Power District 1414 15th STreetColumbus, Nebraska 68601

B. L. Houston, Nuclear Licensing and Safety ManagerNebraska Public Power DistrictP.O. Box 98Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Dr. William D. Leech MidAmerican Energy 907 Walnut Street P.O. Box 657 Des Moines, Iowa 50303-0657

Mr. Ron Stoddard Lincoln Electric System 1040 O Street P.O. Box 80869 Lincoln, Nebraska 68508

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Chairman
Nemaha County Board of Commissioners
Nemaha County Courthouse
1824 N Street
Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Cheryl Rogers, LLRW Program Manager Environmental Protection Section Nebraska Department of Health 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007 R. A. Kucera, Department Director of Intergovernmental Cooperation
Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Vicki L. Cooper, Chief Radiation Control Program, RCP Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation Forbes Field Building 283 Topeka, Kansas 66620 **DISTRIBUTION:** 

DMB (IE53)

Regional Administrator

**CNS** Resident Inspector

**DRS** Director

**DRP** Director

Branch Chief (DRP/C)

Branch Chief (DRP/TSS)

Project Engineer (DRP/C)

Elaine McNeil (NRR/DIPM/IOLB/IRSS)(MS: 012E-11)

Ellen Poteat, OCFO/LFARB, (MS: TWFN 9E-10)

50.54(p) Book

DRS\PSB Action Item File (2)(99-S-25)

RITS Coorinator

RIV File

DOCUMENT NAME: S:\DRS\DRSLTRS\SG.MLD\AI9025S.CNS.WPD

Al No. 99-S-025 TAC #x00536

To receive copy of document, indicate in box: "C" = Copy without enclosures "E" = Copy with enclosures "N" = No copy

RIV:PSB	Е	C:DRS\PSB			
TWDexter:nh		GMGood			
10/19/99		10/19/99			