

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

July 10, 2025

The Honorable Susan M. Collins Chair, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chair Collins:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am responding to a provision in Senate Report 118-72 accompanying the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2024, directing the NRC to provide an annual analysis of how the staff is meeting telework performance metrics.

On January 20, 2025, President Trump issued a Presidential Memorandum, "Return to In-Person Work." Pursuant to that memorandum, and consistent with guidance subsequently issued by the Office of Personnel Management (OPM), the NRC issued a Return to In-Person Work Policy directing the NRC staff to report to the office for all scheduled workdays, with limited exceptions. The NRC does not possess data or metrics to evaluate staff performance and productivity for comparing teleworkers to in-office workers. Given that NRC employees are in the office full time with limited exceptions, we do not plan to develop such metrics.

The NRC continues to evaluate all employees' performance and productivity through the agency's established performance management process, a program approved by OPM. This process does not differentiate between staff who work in-person and those who are approved to work remotely. Employees are formally evaluated annually based on their individual performance plans, which are comprised of elements and standards that represent the duties and responsibilities specific to their position. Supervisors hold required performance meetings twice per year, as well as informal meetings in between, and each employee is provided an annual rating of their performance.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at 301-415-1776.

Sincerely m /An

Annie Caputo

cc: Senator Patty Murray

Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Susan M. Collins Chair, Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Patty Murray

The Honorable Tom Cole Chairman, Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Rosa DeLauro