

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

June 4, 2025

The Honorable Rand Paul
Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security
and Governmental Affairs
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Paul:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am submitting this letter as the NRC's annual report related to the protection of whistleblowers required by the "National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2018" (Public Law 115-91) (the Act). The Act requires agencies to incorporate the protection of whistleblowers into job requirements and performance standards of supervisory employees. Thereafter, each agency is to report annually to Congress the number of supervisors who failed to meet these critical standards, the reasons for the determination that they failed, and what performance-based or corrective actions were taken by the agency in response. Beginning in fiscal year 2022 and in each subsequent year, whistleblower protection language has been included in supervisory performance appraisals. The NRC had no confirmed violations of the Act during our last performance cycle of fiscal year 2024.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, at (301) 415-1776.

Sincerely,

David A. Wright

cc: Senator Gary C. Peters

<u>Identical</u> letter sent to:

The Honorable Rand Paul Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Gary C. Peters

The Honorable James Comer Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Stephen F. Lynch

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable Cynthia Lummis
Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate,
and Nuclear Innovation and Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510
cc: Senator Mark Kelly

The Honorable Brett Guthrie Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Bob Latta Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Kathy Castor

The Honorable Morgan Griffith
Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment
Committee on Energy and Commerce
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515
cc: Representative Paul Tonko