

# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001

April 22, 2025

MEMORANDUM TO: Marissa Bailey, Executive Director

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

FROM: Walter L. Kirchner, Chair

Dalter & Kirchner Signed by Kirchner, Walter

on 04/22/25

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE 723<sup>rd</sup> MEETING OF THE ADVISORY

COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS), MARCH 5-

6, 2025

I hereby certify, to the best of my knowledge and belief, that the minutes of the subject meeting are an accurate record of the proceedings for that meeting. In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," the enclosure of this memo serves as the certified minutes.

Enclosure:

723<sup>rd</sup> ACRS Meeting Minutes

cc: Russell Chazell, SECY

Doris Lewis, OEDO

ACRS staff
ACRS members

CONTACT: L. Burkhart, ACRS

301-287-3775



# **UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001**

April 22, 2025

5-

MEMORAND	DUM TO:	Marissa Bailey, Executive Director Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards		
FROM:		Walter L. Kirchner, Chair Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards		
SUBJECT:		MINUTES OF THE 723 <sup>rd</sup> MEETING OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS), MARCH 5- 6, 2025		
I here	by certify, to the	best of my know	ledge and belief, that the	minutes of the subject
meeting are	an accurate reco	ord of the proceed	dings for that meeting. In a	accordance with Title 10
of the Code	of Federal Regul	ations, Part 7, "A	DVISORY COMMITTEES	," Section 7.13,
"Minutes of a	dvisory committe	ee meetings," the	e enclosure of this memo s	serves as the certified
minutes.				
Enclosure:				
723 <sup>rd</sup> ACRS	Meeting Minutes			
Doris ACRS	ell Chazell, SEC Lewis, OEDO S staff S members	Y		
CONTACT: Accession	L. Burkhart, A0 301-287-3775 <b>No: ML25112A</b>		Available (Y/N): _Y	Sensitive (Y/N): N
If Sensitive	, which category	•	, ,	, ,
OFFICE	ACRS	ACRS/SUNSI Review	ACRS	ACRS
NAME	WWang(WW)	WWang(WW)	LBurkhart	WKirchner
DATE	4/22/2025	4/22/2025	4/22/2025	4/22/2025

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

# MINUTES OF THE 723rd MEETING OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," this document serves as the certified minutes.

The 723<sup>rd</sup> meeting of the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) was conducted in person and virtually on March 5-6, 2025.

The summary report from the ACRS Chairman to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Chairman contains the following information for this meeting: (1) an accurate description of each matter discussed and (2) a list of all the documents issued or approved by the Committee.

A transcript of selected portions of the meeting is available in the NRC's public document room (pdr.resource@nrc.gov or 1-800-397-4209), or from the Publicly Available Records System (PARS) component of the NRC's document system (ADAMS), or at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/acrs/agenda. The transcript along with the list of attendees provides information on the level of public attendance and participation.

Details of the meeting information can be found in the following documents:

- 1. Full committee meeting agenda (ML25035A113)
- 2. Summary report (ML25085A309)
- 3. Transcripts (ML25092A154 and ML25106A308)

#### ACRS MEETING ATTENDEES

#### ACRS Members

Dr. Walter Kirchner (Chairman), Mr. Gregory Halnon (Vice-Chairman), Dr. David Petti (Memberat-Large), Mr. Matthew Sunseri, Dr. Ronald Ballinger, Dr. Vesna Dimitrijevic, Dr. Vicki Bier, Dr. Robert Martin, Mr. Thomas Roberts, Dr. Craig Harrington, and Dr. Scott Palmtag.

#### **ACRS Consultants**

Dr. Dennis Bley

Mr. Charlie Brown

Dr. Stephen Schultz

#### **ACRS Staff**

A. Torres

M. Bailey

T. Bush

C. Antonescu

T. Dashiell

A. Bellinger

C. Brown

L. Burkhart

- K. Howard
- R. Krsek
- S. Walton
- S. Moore
- Q. Nguyen H. Nourbakhsh
- J. Riner
- J. Lehning
- M. Compton
- M. Snodderly
- T. Skov
- D. Widmayer S. Walker
- S. Garland
- W. Wang

The Appendix lists additional meeting attendees from meeting sign-in sheet and MS Teams.

### ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS 723rd FULL COMMITTEE MEETING March 5-7, 2025

	NAME	ORGANIZATION
1	Gilberto Blag Rodyguer	NRR/DEX NRC
2	STEVEN DOWNEY	RII/DORS/EB3 - NRC
3	Mac Read	RII/DORS/PB4/Summer
4	ED MILLER	NRR DORL LPLZ-1
5	Keith Miller	Dominion Energy
6	Brenda Brown	Dominion Energy
7	Beth Jenkins	Dominion Energy
8	James Holloway	Dominion Energy
9	Charles Tomes	Dominion Energy
10	Roger Rucker	Pominion Energy
11	PRATT CHERRY	DOMINION ENERGY
12	Joseph Messina	NRC/NRR/OSS/SFNB
13	Marieliz Johnson	NKC NEK DNEC
14	Tom Jons	PG+E
15	Maureen Zawalick	PGIE
16	Philoppe Soeven	Pade
17	Lydia Dvorakowski	Constellation
18	BRANDY LOPEZ	P64 E
19	SCOTT KAUFFMAN	CONSTELLATION
20	QHRIS WILSON	CONSTELLATION
21	John Wise	NRC
22	Chaital, Chattopeethy	NRC.
23	Kin Conway	NMSS / REFS/EPMB
24	John Holding	Constellation
25_	Augrew Frikaris	_XRC
26		NRC
27	BrianHarris	NRC
28	Nicholas Hansong	NR
29	ANGELABYFURD	NPC
30	VAUGINS THOM &	NPC

# Attendees from MS Teams Download:

Adakou Foli				
Ali Rezai				
allenhiserjr				
Andrew Henson (Services - 6)				
Angela Wu				
Angelo Stubbs				
Angie Buford				
Anglin, John Paul				
Aughtman, Amy G.				
Baker, William J				
Bart Fu				
Benjamin Rothberg				
Beth Kehler Haluska (Services - 6)				
Bhowmick, Dulal				
Bill Rogers				
Braudt, Thomas Earl				
Brian Allik				
Carlin, Daniel				
Carol Moyer				
Carolyn Fairbanks				
Carpenter, Brad				
Chaitali Chattopadhaya				
Christina Antonescu				
Coleman, Joshua A				
Creighton S Adsit (Services - 6)				
Dan Hoang				
Daniel P Madden (Services - 6)				
David Coy				
David T Clohecy (Services - 6)				
DESC VC Summer NOB 239 (Unverified)				
Devin Bradshaw				
Donahue, Peter John				
Emma Haywood				
Eric Palmer				
Fischer, Greg A.				
Franzone, Stephan				
Greg Makar				
Gregory J Travers (Services - 6)				
Gregory Travers (Unverified)				
Gressett, Jessica R.				
Griffin, Ryan D				
Grissom, Lindsey Renee				
, , ,				

Hall Cardon					
Hall, Gordon					
Hawk, Andrew E					
Heffner, Andrew G					
lan Tseng					
Jalen Copeland					
Jalen Copeland (Unverified)					
James Gavula					
Jo Ambrosini					
Joel Jenkins					
Jorge Cintron-Rivera					
Julian Hamilton (Services - 6)					
Justin Bouknight (DESC Generation - 8)					
KD Dials					
Keith J Miller (Services - 6)					
Leslie Terry					
Liu, Xi					
Longwell, Stephen K.					
Lopez, Carlos					
Lou McKown					
Louis T Banks (Services - 6)					
Lynch, Brett					
M. Olsofsky					
M. Olsofsky (Unverified)					
Marieliz Johnson					
Marissa Bailey					
Matthew McConnell					
Matthew Yoder					
McIlnay, Brian S					
McNutt, Donald					
Michael W Guthrie (Services - 6)					
Michael, Eric Ashley					
Mike Gallagher (Unverified)					
Naeem Iqbal					
Nicole Coovert					
Nowicki, Tim J.					
<u> </u>					
Pamela Greenlaw (Unverified)					
Patrick King - Court Reporter Backup (Unverified)					
Paul A Rittenhouse (Services - 6)					
Paul A. (Unverified)					
Pournaras, DeLisa S.					
Pratt Cherry (Services - 6)					
Raul Hernandez					
Reena Boruk					
Neeria Duluk					

Richard C Eagan (Services - 6)			
Santosh Bhatt			
Schneider, Raymond E			
Seung Min			
Sexton, David Matthew			
Stephan Franzone			
Steven Bloom			
Steven Lynch			
TAYLOR LEWIS (Services - 6)			
Tom Snow (Services - 6)			
Tyus, Samuel J			
Udyawar, Anees			
Varoujan Kalikian			
Wright, Michael			