

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

March 10, 2025

MEMORANDUM TO:	Michael Wentzel, Chief Advanced Reactor Policy Branch Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-Power Production and Utilization Facilities Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
FROM:	Angelica Gheen, Senior Project Manager / RA / Advanced Reactor Policy Branch Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-Power Production and Utilization Facilities Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
SUBJECT:	SUMMARY OF JANUARY 24, 2024, PERIODIC ADVANCED REACTOR STAKEHOLDER PUBLIC MEETING

On January 24, 2024, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff held an information meeting with a question-and-answer session with stakeholders to discuss advanced reactor topics including:

- Advanced Reactor Integrated Schedule Demonstration
- Upcoming NRC Workshop on Human Factors Considerations for Remote Operation of Nuclear Facilities
- Gateway for Accelerated Innovation in Nuclear (GAIN)
- Advanced Reactor Demonstration Program (ARDP) Advanced Reactor Safeguards and Security Program

The meeting notice is available in the NRC's Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) at Accession No. <u>ML24024A057</u>, and the presentation slides are available under Accession No. <u>ML24024A019</u>. The Enclosure to this summary provides the attendees for the meeting as captured by Microsoft Teams.

For each topic listed above, the NRC staff provided information and allotted time for stakeholder comments and questions. Stakeholders provided feedback on several topics and asked clarifying questions. NRC staff stated that the feedback was appreciated. No follow-up actions were identified.

CONTACT: Angelica Gheen, NRR/DANU 301-415-1178

The NRC staff provided a brief update on status of advanced reactor licensing activities, including recently completed reviews, stakeholder engagement efforts, and brief statistics on applications/licensing reviews currently in progress at the division.

The NRC staff provided updates of the Advanced Reactor Integrated Schedule of Activities on the NRC's public website at https://www.nrc.gov/reactors/new-reactors/advanced/how-were-executing/integrated-review-schedule/isd-dashboard.html. The NRC staff noted that the schedule reflects activities that have recently been completed, updated, or added since the June 7, 2023, advanced reactor stakeholder meeting.

The NRC staff provided an overview of an upcoming workshop entitled "NRC Workshop on Human Factors Considerations for Remote Operation of Nuclear Facilities". The hybrid workshop is scheduled for January 31 and February 1, 2024. The stated goals of the workshop are for the NRC to better understand concepts of operations the nuclear industry is considering that may include elements of remote operation, and to gain insights regarding how well-suited NRC's current guidance is for the human factors review of these concepts.

The GAIN Director Christine King gave a presentation on GAIN's current goals, approaches, and activities. Chris Lohse, GAIN Innovation and Technology Manager, Holly Powell, GAIN Operations Manager and Jon Grams, GAIN Project Researcher followed up with additional insights into how GAIN is supporting industry by awarding vouchers. Vouchers competitively award access to facilities and staff in the DOE national laboratory complex and are available to businesses that are majority U.S.-owned. Chris Lohse continued the presentation with a discussion on advanced reactor costs and the National Renewable Energy Laboratory Annual Technology Baseline, which provides a consistent set of technology cost and performance data for energy analysis. Additionally, Mr. Lohse presented an assessment of the supply chain and associated concerns. The GAIN team followed those presentations with information on how their state level engagement efforts and research into coal transitions.

Dr. Ben Cipiti, the National Technical Director for DOE's Advanced Reactor Safeguards and Security program at Sandia National Laboratory presented on Lessons Learned in Physical Protection, MC&A and Cybersecurity. Dr. Cipiti gave an overview of the Advanced Reactor Safeguards and Security program and how it is addressing the near-term challenges that advanced reactor vendors face.

To see information regarding previously held periodic advanced reactor stakeholder public meetings, please visit the NRC's public website at <u>https://www.nrc.gov/reactors/new-reactors/advanced/stakeholder-engagement/meetings.html</u>.

Please direct any inquires to Angelica Gheen at 301-415-1178 or via email at <u>Angelica.Gheen@nrc.gov</u>.

Enclosure: Attendance List

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF JANUARY 24, 2024, PERIODIC ADVANCED REACTOR STAKEHOLDER PUBLIC MEETING DATED: MARCH 10, 2025

DISTRIBUTION:

PUBLIC RidsNrrDanu Resource RidsNrrDanuUarp Resource MWentzel,NRR LBurkhart, ACRS SMorrow, RES OFont, NRR AGheen,NRR

ADAMS Accession Number: ML25071A385		5 NRC-0	001
OFFICE	NRR/DANU/UARP/PM	NRR/DANU/UARP/BC	NRR/DANU/UARP/PM
NAME	AGheen	MWentzel	AGheen
DATE	03/10/2025	03/10/2025	03/10/2025

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

ATTENDANCE LIST¹

Name	Organization
Angelica Gheen	U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
James O'Driscoll	NRC
Beth Reed	NRC
Bob Beall	NRC
Steven Lynch	NRC
Phil OBryan	NRC
James Gaslevic	NRC
Joseph Sebrosky	NRC
Donna Williams	NRC
Marty Stutzke	NRC
Rebecca Ober	NRC
Amy Cubbage	NRC
Ondra Dukes	NRC
Christopher Welch	NRC
Ossy Font	NRC
William Kennedy	NRC
Scott Tonsfeldt	NRC
lan Jung	NRC
Walter Williams	NRC
Ting-Leung Sham	NRC
Derek Widmayer	NRC
Jorge Hernandez Munoz	NRC
Michelle Vega Rodriguez	NRC
Suzanne Ani	NRC
Tammie Rivera	NRC
Alec Neller	NRC
Lou Cubellis	NRC
Carolyn Lauron	NRC
Jason Lee	NRC
Stephanie Devlin-Gill	NRC
Zach Gran	NRC
Stephanie Morrow	NRC
Stacy Prasad	NRC
Amy Beasten	NRC
Tony Brown	NRC
Michelle Romano	NRC
Reuben Siegman	NRC
Adrian Muniz	NRC
Tyler Cox	NRC
Jordan Hoellman	NRC
Michele Sampson	NRC

¹ Attendance list based on Microsoft Teams Participant list. This list does not include individuals that connected via phone.

Name	Organization
Meraj Rahimi	NRC
Johnny Rogers	Public
Matt Hendrickson	Public
Mary H Miller	Public
Robert W. Youngblood III	Public
Steve Franzone	Public
Robert Budnitz	Public
William Mills	Public
Jana Bergman	Public
Rachel Turney	Public
Mike Montecalvo	Public
Deborah A Luchsinger	Public
Farshid Shahrokhi	Public
Amanda J Spalding	Public
Christopher P. Chwasz	Public
Adina K Lafrance	Public
Ben B. Cipiti	Public
Stew Yuen	Public
Brian Kloiber	Public
Michael Keegan	Public
Lance Kingsbury	Public
Chet Austin Sigmon	Public
Rob Burg	Public
Michael Scott DeFilippis	Public
Daniel Warner	Public
Steven Nesbit	Public
Keith A. Consani	Public
Rani Franovich	Public
Josh Foss	Public
Andrew Holcomb	Public
Matthew Hahn	Public
Martin O'Neill	Public
RJ Roux	Public
Kyle Clavier	Public
Neil Sheehan	Public
Christine P. King	Public
Sarah Fields	Public
Kati Austgen	Public
Trace Orf	Public
Eric Thornsbury	Public
Sue Lesica	Public
Raymond Burski	Public
Kurt Harris	Public
Leigh Lloveras	Public
Elijah Schussler	Public
Frank Akstulewicz	Public

Name	Organization
Ann Carpenter	Public
Brian E Jelke	Public
Paul Gunter	Public
Edwin Lyman	Public
Daniel Nichols	Public