

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

April 25, 2025

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Mr. Speaker:

On behalf of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), I am providing the agency's 2024 "Recommended Best Practices Report for Environmental Reviews and Authorizations" (Best Practices Report) [Enclosure 1]. Title 41 of the Fixing America's Surface Transportation Act (FAST-41), as amended by the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA), requires "each participating agency and lead agency" to submit to Congress and the Director of the Office of Management and Budget a report assessing the performance of the agency in implementing FAST-41 best practices, with the report due each year by April 15. The enclosed best practices report was developed in accordance with the fiscal year (FY) 2024 Federal Permitting Improvement Steering Council (Permitting Council) guidance.

The enclosed report has three sections:

- Section 1 lists each of the Permitting Council best practice categories and corresponding NRC responses.
- Section 2 lists the selected best practice categories that the NRC chose to focus on for FY 2024 and the corresponding responses.
- Section 3 lists the selected best practice categories that the NRC plans to focus on for FY 2025.

In addition, the FY 2023 report is enclosed for awareness [Enclosure 2]. If you have any questions or need additional information, please contact me, or have your staff contact Eugene Dacus, Director of the Office of Congressional Affairs, via email at <u>Eugene.Dacus@nrc.gov</u> or by telephone at 301-415-1776.

Sincerely,

David A. Wright

Enclosures: As stated

## Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker of the House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable James D. Vance President of the Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Russell Vought Director, Office of Management and Budget 725 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20503

The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

The Honorable Cynthia Lummis Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate, and Nuclear Innovation and Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, DC 20510 cc: Senator Mark Kelly

The Honorable Brett Guthrie Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Frank Pallone, Jr.

The Honorable Morgan Griffith Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Paul Tonko The Honorable Bob Latta Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 cc: Representative Kathy Castor