MEETING OF THE

ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON THE MEDICAL USES OF ISOTOPES

June 17, 2024

MEETING SUMMARY

PURPOSE

To review and provide feedback and recommendations on the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff's draft proposed rule, associated draft implementation guidance, and draft model procedures for reporting nuclear medicine injection extravasations as medical events.

OUTCOME

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff gained a better understanding of the views and opinions of the ACMUI, as well as other stakeholders' views and opinions. The staff will consider the ACMUI's comments and recommendations prior to finalizing the meeting document.

Full transcripts and handouts from the ACMUI meeting can be found on the NRC's ACMUI Meetings webpage, located at: https://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/acmui/meetings/. The meeting attendees are listed in Enclosure 1.

RECOMMENDATIONS AND ACTIONS

The following provides a summary of the discussions that took place on the topics on the ACMUI meeting agenda (Enclosure 2).

The following addendums were made to the subcommittee report as resulted from discussion that took place during the meeting.

The ACMUI recommended that the subcommittee report be clarified that their recommendation was that the NRC should not be making requirements about informed consent and not a general recommendation about informed consents.

The ACMUI also added the recommendation to replace the term "potential" with either "likely" or "expected" in the proposed rule.

The ACMUI unanimously endorsed, with one abstention, the subcommittee report with the addendums. This report and its recommendations can be viewed, in their entirety, on the NRC's ACMUI Subcommittee Reports webpage, located at the following link: https://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/acmui/reports/index.html.

Enclosures:

- 1. Meeting Attendees
- 2. Meeting Agenda

MEETING ATTENDEES

June 17, 2024

ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON THE MEDICAL USES OF ISOTOPES

Hossein Jadvar, MD, PhD Chair

Richard Green Vice Chair

Richard Harvey, DrPh Member

Josh Mailman Member

Melissa Martin Member

Michael D. O'Hara, PhD Member

Zoubir Ouhib Member

Megan Shober Member

Harvey B. Wolkov, MD Member

Andrew Einstein, MD Member

Michael R. Folkert, MD, PhD Member

Joanna R. Fair, MD, PhD Member

Rebecca Allen Member

John F. Angle, MD Consultant to the Committee

NRC STAFF

Kevin Williams Director, Division of Materials Safety, Security, State, and

Tribal Programs (MSST)

Christian Einberg Chief, Medical Safety and Events Assessment Branch (MSEB)

and Designated Federal Officer

Celimar Valentin-Rodriguez NMSS/MSST/MSEB and Designated Federal Officer

Lillian Armstead NMSS/MSST/MSEB and Designated Federal Officer

Aaron Thomlinson NMSS/MSST/MSEB

Maryann Ayoade NMSS/MSST/MSEB

Kenneth Brenneman NMSS/MSST/MSEB

Daniel Dimarco NMSS/MSST/MSEB

Cindy Flannery NMSS/MSST/MSEB

Vincent Holahan NMSS/MSST

Daniel Shaw NMSS/MSST/MSEB

Sarah Spence NMSS/MSST/MSEB

Katherine Tapp NMSS/MSST/MSEB

Janice Nguyen R-I/DRSS/MLAB

Travis Jones OGC/LHE/MFW

Brian Allen RES/DSA/RPB

Latischa Hanson R-IV/DRSS/MLB

Jason VonEhr R-I/DRSS/MLAB

Sarah Lopas NMSS/REFS

PUBLIC PARTICIPANTS

Christopher M. Helstern

John Rumson

Josh Knowland

Lingyun Chen

Mateo Kajic

Claire Drozd

Lynes Matos
Christopher M. Helstern
Carol Marcus
Jenni Johnston
James Norweck
Deirdre H. Elder
Chris Mitchell
Deborah M. Barrickman
Todd Senglaub
Ralph Lieto
Noelle Geier
Manuel Diaz
Emily C Rostel
Ike Hall
Julia Bellinger
Jenny Parra
Kendall E. Berry
Rex G. Ayers
Billie Harvey
Carley M. Hansen
Jeffrey S. Mason
Alan Jackson

Vanessa E. Holfeltz Sandy Gabriel Harriet Karagiannis Logan A. Cowart Paul Wallner Eric Anderson Hannah Jones Teresa Fisher Sean Chapel Anthony Pacella Sue Bunning Wendy W. Terrenoire Michael Roberson Lisa Marie Guarino Carmine M. Plott Karen Burgard **Doug Burrichter** Jennifer A. Schroeder Jennifer Papich Douglas L. Miller Jason C. Mace Leelavathi Sreenivas Rebecca Maxey Marie S. Hubbard Mike Drelich Michael Sheetz Joshua Johnson

Sun-Woo Lee

Kevin Kunder

Holli Allen
Cathy Cutler
Kim C. Wiebeck
Adam C. Quinton
Stephen Holmes
Christopher Pagan
Jonathan D. Moore
Shawn Seeley
Tony Gonzalez
David Bierman
Isabella Aristeguieta Pirela
Erik Lyons
Erin Grady
Samantha Everett
Alexus Willis
Michael Peters
Phillip Peterson
Jessica Rodgers
Jonathan J. Otten
William Hinchcliffe
Tim David Kleyn
Ann Marie Derby
Ron Lattanze
Harral Logaras
Chu Wang
Peter Duyshart
Korressa Lee
Chris Comfort
Jean-Luc

Omitsa Lopez Danielle Hjelm Gabriel J. Munoz David Pellicciarini Willie M. Crawford Christopher L. Ogan Jussi Sillanpaa Jason D. Hout Tim Turkington Amol Patil Kelly N. Lewis **Daniel Chiappetta** Matt Wait Andrew Hoy Miguel de la Guardia Olga Stafford Helen Nadel Ashley Cockerham Deb Lemay Stephanie Aranki Laura M. Knox Erin Desemple Kyle K. Underwood Brad K. Emma Anderson Kayla Vom Dorp **Edward Case** Jaime A. Barnes **Neil Petry**

Sebastien Gros Neil Whiteside Hillary K. Haskins Virginia Pappas Emma Duncan **David Crowley** Matt Reiter Joshua Young Justin L. Brown **Cathey Rivers** Heather A. Jacene Cami Still Luke Schwartz Casey Schmitz Richard Scott Blackwell Susan Suchan Aaron Smith Scott Fuller Jill Shepherd Olusegun A. Larinde Blaine T. Mischen David L. Bushnell Kevin Tello Michael A. Welling Matty Mozzor Castellon Krupskaya **Ariel Doucet** Bill Erwin

Will R. Gibbons

Trisha Laake Marjorie Gonzalez Xingyu Nie Brad K. Candi Mcdowell Tina Shoemaker Robert C. Harris Whitney Cox William White Ramon Li Matt Dennis Sharn M. Jeffries Joseph M. Beckman Robert Naylor Curtis Liddle Claudia C. Stenstrom David M. Schuster Becki Harisis Jimmy Uhlemeyer Sandra M. Ramirez Kathleen Hintenlang Robin Elliott Jackie Cook Stanley D Hampton Elizabeth Franklin Brian M. Kelley William C. Chen Tim Turkington

Paula Lang

Yuanqing Guo

Barbara Hamrick

John P. Metyko

Matthew Williamson

Sandy Gabriel

Christopher D. Nation

Ed Leidholdt

Rachel Nichols

Jennifer R. House

Rich Anderson

Robin Elliott

Sussie DeMello

Vineetha Ram

Susan Corey

Mandie S. Hubbard

Ed Nicho

Court Reporter

Emma Bower

Advisory Committee on the Medical Uses of Isotopes TELECONFERENCE AGENDA Monday, June 17, 2024 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM ET

OPEN SESSION

1. Opening Remarks

C. Einberg, NRC

Mr. Christian Einberg will formally open the meeting.

2. Report on Nuclear Medicine Injection Extravasations as Medical Events

M. Martin, ACMUI

2:00 PM -4:00PM Ms. Martin will discuss the ACMUI's draft subcommittee report on the NRC staff's draft proposed rule and associated draft implementation guidance for reporting nuclear medicine injection extravasations as medical events.

3. Closing and Adjournment

H. Jadvar, ACMUI

Dr. Jadvar will close the meeting.