

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

May 9, 2024

Mr. Ned Finney, Chair Board on Nuclear, Clean Energy, Power, and Facilities Codes and Standards American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Mr. Thomas Vogan, Chair Strategic Committee on Nuclear Facilities American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Mr. Robert Keating, Chair Committee on Construction of Nuclear Facility Components American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Mr. Ralph Hill, Chair Standards Committee on Plant Systems Design American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Two Park Avenue New York, NY 10016-5990

SUBJECT: LETTER NOMINATING NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION STAFF TO

THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS BNCS, SCNF,

SECTION III AND PSD COMMITTEES

Dear Mr. Finney, Mr. Vogan, Mr. Keating, and Mr. Hill:

I would like to nominate several U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff to be the authorized NRC representatives or contributing members on various American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) committees, subgroups, and task groups under the ASME Board on Nuclear, Clean Energy, Power, and Facilities Codes and Standards (BNCS), ASME Strategic Committee on Nuclear Facilities (SCNF), ASME Section III Committee on Construction of Nuclear Facility Components, and ASME Standards Committee on Plant Systems Design (PSD). Enclosure 1 lists the NRC staff nominated as authorized NRC representatives or alternates. Those nominees that do not yet have the ASME PF-1 and PAF forms on file, have been instructed to submit those forms directly to ASME upon issuance of this letter.

If not yet granted, we request that individuals listed in Enclosures 1 be given access to C&S Connect. The NRC acknowledges that, for those identified members or alternates participating on voting committees, only one of those individuals is permitted to vote on a given ballot.

In accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-119, "Federal Participation in the Development and Use of Voluntary Consensus Standards and in Conformity Assessment Activities," dated January 27, 2016, the participation on a committee of an NRC-authorized representative does not connote agency agreement with, or endorsement of,

decisions reached by the committee, or of standards approved and published as a result of the committee's efforts. Agency representatives participating on consensus standards developing groups will, to the extent possible, ascertain the views of the agency on matters of interest and will express views that are consistent with established agency views.

However, the NRC's endorsement of these standards, if desired by the NRC, would be part of a separate activity such as incorporation by reference into rulemaking or endorsement in an NRC regulatory guide.

Correspondence to these nominated individuals should be addressed to:

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: [NRC Staff Name] Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Contact information for the nominated individuals is provided in Enclosure 2.

Thank you very much for providing the NRC with the opportunity to participate in the work of your committees.

Sincerely,

McKirgan, John signing on behalf of Sampson, Michele on 05/09/24

Michele Sampson, NRC Standards Executive Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Enclosures:

- Proposed NRC Membership Revisions to the ASME BNCS, SCNF, Section III, and PSD
- 2. Contact Information

cc: Kathryn Hyam, Director ASME Nuclear, Clean Energy, Power, and Facilities Codes and Standards

Thomas Vogan, Vice Chair

ASME BNCS

Maury Pressburger, Vice Chair ASME BNCS Ned Finney, Vice Chair ASME SCNF

Timothy Adams, Vice Chair ASME Section III

Dale Matthews, Vice Chair ASME Section III

Adam Maslowski, Staff Secretary ASME Section III

Daniel Miro-Quesada, Staff Secretary ASME, PSD

Enclosure 1: Proposed NRC Membership Revisions to the ASME BNCS, SCNF, Section III, and PSD Committees

	Previous NRC Staff Assignments			Changes to NRC Staff Assignments			
Organization	Name		Alt	Name	Status (1)	Rep	Alt
Board on Nuclear, Clean Energy, Power, and Facilities Codes and Standards							
Board on Nuclear, Clean Energy, Power, and Facilities Codes and Standards	David Rudland Angela Buford	✓	✓	David Rudland Angela Buford Ting-Leung Sham	NC NC CM	✓ 	 ✓
Strategic Committee on Nuclear Facilities							
Strategic Committee on Nuclear Facilities		Ting-Leung Sham		СМ			
Section III, Committee on Construction of Nuclear Facility Components							
Section III Committee on Construction of Nuclear Facility Components	Kamal Manoly Chakrapani Basavaraju	✓	√	Kamal Manoly Chakrapani Basavaraju Ting-Leung Sham	NC NC CM	✓ 	 ✓
Subgroup-Division 5 on High Temperature Reactors	William Jessup Joseph Bass	~	√	William Jessup Matthew Hiser Joseph Bass Ting-Leung Sham	R N NC CM	 ✓ 	 -/
Task Group on Alloy 709 Code Case				Ting-Leung Sham	СМ	~	
Task Group on High Temperature Piping Design				Ting-Leung Sham	СМ	~	
ASME Plant Systems Design Standards							
PSD Subcommittee on Probabilistic Design Methods				Ting-Leung Sham	СМ		
(1) Status – C – change in appointment status, CM – contributing member, N – new appointment, R – remove from group, NC – no change							

Enclosure 2: Contact Information

Name NRC Organization		Email	Phone	
Chakrapani Basavaraju	NRR/DEX/EMIB	chakrapani.basavaraju@nrc.gov	301-415-1221	
Angela Buford	NRR/DNRL/NVIB	angela.buford@nrc.gov	301-415-3166	
Joseph Bass	RES/DE/REB	Joseph.Bass@nrc.gov	301-415-7000	
Matthew Hiser	NRR/DANU/UAL1	matthew.hiser@nrc.gov	301-415-2454	
Kamal Manoly	NRR/DEX	Kamal.Manoly@nrc.gov	301-415-2765	
David Rudland	NRR/DNRL	david.rudland@nrc.gov	301-415-1896	
Ting-Leung (Sam) Sham	RES/DE	Ting-Leung.Sham@nrc.gov	301-415-0865	
Geroge Thomas	NRR/DEX/ESEB	George.Thomas2@nrc.gov	301-415-6181	

SUBJECT: LETTER NOMINATING NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION S'	TAFF TO THE
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS BNCS, SCNF, SECTION	III AND PSD
COMMITTEES, DATED	

DISTRIBUTION:

Chakrapani Basavaraju Angela Buford Joseph Bass Matthew Hiser Kamal Manoly Robert Roche-Rivera David Rudland Ting-Leung Sham George Thomas

ADAMS Accession Number: ML

*via email

OFFICE	RES/DE/RGPMB	RES/DE/RGPMB	NRR/DANU	RES/DE	
NAME	R. Gascot	M. Rahimi	M.Shams	M. Sampson	
DATE					

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

LETTER NOMINATING NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION STAFF TO THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS BNCS, SCNF, SECTION III AND PSD COMMITTEES DATE May 9, 2024

DISTRIBUTION:

CBasavaraju, NRR/DEX/EMIB

ABuford, NRR/DNRL/NVIB

JosephBass, RES/DE/REB

MHiser, RES/DE/CMB

KManoly, NRR/DEX

RRoche-Rivera, RES/DE/CIB

DRudland, NRR/DNRL

GThomas, NRR/DEX/ESEB

TSham, RES/DE

ADAMS Accession No.: ML24128A194; Ltr ML24128A195

OFFICE	RES/DE/SGSEB	NMSS/DFM/MSB	RES/DE	NRR/DANU
NAME	RGascot RG	MRahimi <i>MR</i>	MSampson JMcKirgan for <i>JM</i>	MShams <i>MS</i>
DATE	May 7, 2024	May 8, 2024	May 9, 2024	May 9, 2024

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY