

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

April 19, 2024

IN RESPONSE, PLEASE REFER TO: M240222A

MEMORANDUM TO: Raymond V. Furstenau

**Acting Executive Director for Operations** 

FROM: Carrie M. Safford, Secretary

SUBJECT: STAFF REQUIREMENTS – UPDATE ON RESEARCH AND

TEST REACTORS REGULATORY PROGRAM

On February 22, 2024, the Commission was briefed by a panel including external participants and NRC staff members on an overview of the research and test reactors (RTR) regulatory program, including medical isotope facilities and the interface of RTRs and advanced reactors. The external participants included Amber Johnson, Secretary, National Organization of Test, Research and Training Reactors and Director, Nuclear Reactor and Radiation Facilities, University of Maryland; Rusty Towell, Director, Nuclear Energy eXperimental Testing Lab, Abilene Christian University; Caleb Brooks, Director, Illinois Microreactor RD&D Center, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Andrew Boulanger, University Fuel Services Program Manager, Department of Energy; and Joanie Dix, Deputy Director, Office of Conversion, National Nuclear Security Administration.

The meeting, which was held in the Commissioners' Hearing Room, One White Flint North, Rockville, Maryland at 9:00 a.m. Eastern Time, was open to members of the public attending in person and via webcast.

Given the nexus on a variety of novel topics surrounding advanced reactors, for example how research and test reactors are informing our approach to commercial advanced power reactors, the staff should take a holistic review of the status of all NRC advanced reactor rulemakings, guidance development, and licensing activities to ensure Commission policies in this area are aligned going forward. This review should include assessing their schedules, identifying key attributes (e.g., differences in scope, applicability, objectives), and analyzing any possible inconsistencies or areas of overlap. The staff should provide an overview to the Commission via a CA brief.

cc: Chair Hanson

Commissioner Wright Commissioner Caputo Commissioner Crowell

OGC CFO OCA

OIG

OPA ODs, RAs, ACRS, ASLBP PDR