

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001

March 19, 2024

MEMORANDUM TO: Scott W. Moore, Executive Director

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

FROM: Walter L. Kirchner, Chair

Dalter | Kirchner Signed by Kirchner, Walter

on 03/19/24

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE 712th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY

COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS),

FEBRUARY 7-8, 2024

I hereby certify, to the best of my knowledge and belief, that the minutes of the subject meeting are an accurate record of the proceedings for that meeting. In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," the enclosure of this memo serves as the certified minutes.

Enclosure:

712th ACRS Meeting Minutes

cc: Russell Chazell, SECY

Doris Lewis, OEDO

ACRS staff
ACRS members

CONTACT: L. Burkhart, ACRS

301-287-3775



# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001

March 19, 2024

MEMORANDUM TO:		Scott W. Moore, Executive Director Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards					
FROM:		Walter L. Kirchner, Chair Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards					
SUBJECT:		MINUTES OF THE 712 <sup>th</sup> MEETING OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS), FEBRUARY 7-8, 2024					
	I here	eby certify, to the	best of my know	ledge and belief, that the	minutes of the subject		
me	eeting are	an accurate reco	rd of the proceed	lings for that meeting. In	accordance with Title 10		
of the Code of Federal Regulations, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13,							
"M	"Minutes of advisory committee meetings," the enclosure of this memo serves as the certified						
mi	nutes.						
En	closure:						
71	2 <sup>th</sup> ACRS	Meeting Minutes					
CC	Russell Chazell, SECY Doris Lewis, OEDO ACRS staff ACRS members						
CC	ONTACT:	L. Burkhart, A0 301-287-3775	CRS				
ı	f Sensitive	No: ML24078A1 , which category	?	Available (Y/N): _Y solution or See restricted	Sensitive (Y/N): N		
	OFFICE	ACRS	ACRS/SUNSI	ACRS	ACRS		
}	NAME	WWang(WW)	Review WWang(WW)	LBurkhart	WKirchner		
Ī	DATE	3/18/2024	3/18/2024	3/18/2024	3/19/2024		

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

### MINUTES OF THE 712th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," this document serves as the certified minutes.

The 712<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) was conducted in person and virtually on February 7-8, 2024.

The summary report from the ACRS Chairman to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Chairman contains the following information for this meeting: (1) an accurate description of each matter discussed and (2) a list of all the documents issued or approved by the Committee.

A transcript of selected portions of the meeting is available in the NRC's public document room (pdr.resource@nrc.gov or 1-800-397-4209), or from the Publicly Available Records System (PARS) component of the NRC's document system (ADAMS), or at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/acrs/agenda. The transcript along with the list of attendees provides information on the level of public attendance and participation.

Details of the meeting information can be found in the following documents:

- 1. Full committee meeting agenda (ML23354A101)
- 2. Summary report (ML24060A285)
- 3. Transcript (ML24058A338)

#### ACRS MEETING ATTENDEES

#### **ACRS Members**

Dr. Walter Kirchner (Chairman), Mr. Gregory Halnon (Vice-Chairman), Dr. David Petti (Memberat-Large), Mr. Matthew Sunseri, Dr. Ronald Ballinger, Mr. Charles Brown, Dr. Vesna Dimitrijevic, Dr. Jose March-Leuba, Dr. Vicki Bier, Dr. Robert Martin, and Mr. Thomas Roberts.

#### **ACRS Consultants**

Dr. Dennis Bley

Dr. Stephen Schultz

#### **ACRS Staff**

- A. Torres
- T. Bush
- Z. Abdullahi
- C. Antonescu
- T. Dashiell
- A. Bellinger
- C. Brown
- L. Burkhart
- R. Krsek

- S. Walton
- S. Moore
- Q. Nguyen H. Nourbakhsh
- J. Riner
- J. Perry
- M. Compton M. Snodderly
- T. Skov
- D. Widmayer
- S. Walker
- W. Wang

The Appendix lists additional meeting attendees from MS Teams and sign-in sheet.

APPENDIX: ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES

#### Sign-in sheet:

### ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS 712th FULL COMMITTEE MEETINGS February 7-9, 2024

	NAME	ORGANIZATION
1	David Esh	NRC/NMSS/DUNP
2	Tim Mc Cartin	NRC/NMSS/DFM
3	Boby Aba-Eil	NACINESIBUMD
4	George Tartal	NRC/NMSS
5		
_		

#### Attendees from MS Teams Download:

Aaron Sanders				
Ashley Forbes				
Belkys Sosa				
Cardelia Maupin				
Chris Schwarz UUSA (Guest)				
Cindy Bladey				
Court Reporter - Sam Wojack (Guest)				
dshrum llwforum.org				
Duane White				
Edward O'Donnell				
Gary Purdy				
George Tartal				
Getachew Tesfaye				
Hans Arlt				
Jill Shepherd				
Joseph Giacinto				
Kemp, Christopher				
Lisa Dimmick				
Lisa London (She/Her)				
Marilyn Diaz Maldonado				
Martin, Kathleen				
Melanie Wong				
Priya Yadav				
Robinson, Amie				

Sheldon Clark (He/Him)
Sherrill, Charles
Stacy Joseph
Suzanne Dennis (She/Her/Hers)
Tricia Lizama (She/Her)
White, Aaron