

#### UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

January 3, 2024

MEMORANDUM TO:	William T. Jessup, Chief Advanced Reactor Licensing Branch 1 Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-power Production and Utilization Facilities Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
FROM:	Roel A. Brusselmans, Project Manager /RA/ Advanced Reactor Licensing Branch 1 Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-power Production and Utilization Facilities Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
SUBJECT:	SUMMARY OF THE MAY 25, 2023, CLOSED MEETING WITH TERRAPOWER, LLC TO DISCUSS SEISMIC ISOLATION STRATEGY FOR THE NATRIUM DESIGN (EPID NO. L-2021- LRM-0071)

# Meeting Information:

Applicant: TerraPower, LLC (TerraPower)

Project No.: 99902100

Public Meeting Notice Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) Accession No.: ML23129A745

Applicant Presentation Slides: ML23131A401

Meeting Attendees: See the enclosure for a list of meeting attendees.

CONTACT: Roel A. Brusselmans, NRR/DANU (301) 415-0829

## **Meeting Summary:**

On May 25, 2023, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff held a closed meeting with TerraPower to discuss the seismic isolation strategy for the Natrium design. This meeting was also held in anticipation of a forthcoming topical report from TerraPower regarding the same subject. Participants included representatives from TerraPower, General Electric Hitachi, Bechtel, and the Department of Energy. The NRC staff conducted the meeting in accordance with NRC Management Directive 3.5, "Attendance at NRC Staff-Sponsored Meetings" (ML21180A271).

The NRC staff began the meeting with an introduction and explained that this meeting would be closed to the public to discuss proprietary information. During the meeting, TerraPower representatives presented a summary of seismic isolation strategies for the Natrium design. This included a discussion of available technologies, benchmarking of other seismic isolation systems, seismic isolation system design considerations, and the regulatory framework related to the topic.

The NRC staff and TerraPower representatives also discussed the next steps for future interactions regarding the Natrium reactor design.

No regulatory decisions were made as a result of this meeting.

Enclosure: List of Meeting Attendees

cc: TerraPower Natrium via GovDelivery

#### W. Jessup

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF MAY 25, 2023, CLOSED PRE-APPLICATION MEETING WITH TERRAPOWER, LLC TO DISCUSS SEISMIC ISOLATION STRATEGY FOR THE NATRIUM DESIGN (EPID NO. L-2021-LRM-0071) DATED: JANUARY 3, 2024

## **DISTRIBUTION:**

PUBLIC RidsNrrDanuUal1 Resource RidsNrrDanuUal2 Resource RidsNrrDanu Resource MSutton, NRR SDevlin-Gill, NRR CBanks, NRR RBrusselmans, NRR RAnzalone, NRR WJessup, NRR DGreene, NRR KManoly, NRR SBailey, NRR GBedi, NRR HPhan, NRR TScarbrough, NRR JPires, RES CdeMessieres, NRR GThomas, NRR ITseng, NRR CBasavaraju, NRR

### ADAMS Accession Number: [ML24009A187]

NRR-001

	OFFICE	NRR/DANU/UAL1:PM	NRR/DANU/UAL1:PM	NRR/DANU/UAL1:LA	NRR/DANU/UAL1:BC
	NAME	RBrusselmans	MSutton	DGreene	WJessup
	DATE	10/20/2023	10/26/2023	11/2/2023	12/22/2023
ſ	OFFICE	NRR/DANU/UAL1:PM			
Γ	NAME	RBrusselmans			
	DATE	1/3/2024			

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

# List of Meeting Attendees

## SUMMARY OF MAY 25, 2023, CLOSED PRE-APPLICATION MEETING WITH TERRAPOWER, LLC TO DISCUSS SEISMIC ISOLATION STRATEGY FOR THE NATRIUM DESIGN (EPID NO. L-2021-LRM-0071)

Name	Organization
Mallecia Sutton	U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
Reed Anzalone	NRC
Courtney Banks	NRC
Roel Brusselmans	NRC
Kamal Manoly	NRC
Stewart Bailey	NRC
Gurjendra Bedi	NRC
Hahn Phan	NRC
Thomas Scarbrough	NRC
Jose Pires	NRC
Candace de Messieres	NRC
George Thomas	NRC
lan Tseng	NRC
Chakrapani Basavaraju	NRC
Ryan Sprengel	TerraPower, LLC (TerraPower)
Aaron Martin	TerraPower
Alon Katz	TerraPower
Calen Kaneko	TerraPower
Chris Courtenay	TerraPower
Huy Tran	TerraPower
lan Gifford	TerraPower
Jim Gleason	TerraPower
Larinda Giegel	TerraPower
Leslie Holden	TerraPower
Michael Cohen	TerraPower
Nick Kellenberger	TerraPower
Tara Neider	TerraPower
Zachary Mayfield	TerraPower
Tim Enfinger	General Electric (GE) Hitachi
Tobias Greider	GE Hitachi
Edward Han	GE Hitachi
George Honma	GE Hitachi
Steven Kline	Bechtel
Nathan Howard	Department of Energy (DOE)
Timothy Stuhldreher	DOE

## May 25, 2023