

# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

September 13, 2023

MEMORANDUM TO: Steven Lynch, Chief

Advanced Reactor Policy Branch

Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-Power

Production and Utilization Facilities
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM: Joseph M. Sebrosky, Senior Project Manager

Advanced Reactor Policy Branch

Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-Power

Production and Utilization Facilities
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF AUGUST 22, 2023, PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS

COMMENTS ON THE ADVANCED REACTOR CONTENT OF

APPLICATION PROJECT (ARCAP) AND TECHNOLOGY INCLUSIVE

CONTENT OF APPLICATION PROJECT (TICAP) GUIDANCE

**DOCUMENTS** 

On August 22, 2023, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff held a public meeting with stakeholders to discuss the comments provided on the advanced reactor content of application project (ARCAP) and the technology inclusive content of application project (TICAP) guidance documents. The meeting notice is available in the NRC's Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) at Accession No. ML23233A078. The NRC staff slides, Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) slides, and Hybrid Power Technologies slides are available at ML23229A120, ML23230A014, and ML23236A255, respectively. The enclosure to this summary provides a list of the meeting attendees.

The purpose of the meeting was to provide an opportunity for stakeholders to discuss their comments submitted on the nine ARCAP interim staff guidance (ISG) documents and the draft TICAP guidance document, Draft Regulatory Guide (DG-1404), "Guidance for a Technology Inclusive Content of Application Methodology to Inform the Licensing Basis and Content of Applications for Licenses, Certifications, and Approvals for Advanced Reactors." The NRC requested comments on these ten documents in a series of *Federal Register* notices all dated May 25, 2023 (88 FR 33922, 88 FR 33926, 88 FR 33938, 88 FR 33920, 88 FR 33928, 88 FR 33936, 88 FR 33930, 88 FR 33940, 88 FR 33924, and 88 FR 33846). The comment period on all documents was extended to August 10, 2023. Only comments that were submitted in response to the listed May 25, 2023, *Federal Register* notices were discussed during the meeting.

CONTACT: Joseph Sebrosky, NRR/DANU

301-415-1132

## Meeting Highlights

 The NRC staff provided an overview of the ARCAP and TICAP guidance documents including providing the links to the regulations.gov portal docket identification numbers where stakeholders can access the documents and the comments associated with the documents.

2

 NEI and Hybrid Power Technologies provided presentations that discussed the comments they provided in response to the May 25, 2023, Federal Register notices.

The NEI and Hybrid Power Technologies presentations aligned with the comments that they provided in response to the *Federal Register* notices. The NRC staff will respond to the NEI and Hybrid Power Technologies comments, as well as other comments received on the ARCAP and TICAP guidance documents, in accordance with the process for issuing these guidance documents in their final form. The NRC staff stated that the next major milestone for the process is a discussion with the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguard (ACRS) Future Plant Designs Subcommittee. The NRC staff intends to discuss the ARCAP and TICAP guidance document comments, their proposed resolution, and the applicable changes to these guidance documents because of the comments on these documents in the ACRS subcommittee meeting. The NRC staff is targeting the discussions with the ACRS subcommittee in the later part of calendar year 2023.

Enclosure: Attendance List S. Lynch 3

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF AUGUST 22, 2023, PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS ADVANCED

REACTOR CONTENT OF APPLICATION PROJECT (ARCAP) AND

TECHNOLOGY INCLUSIVE CONTENT OF APPLICATION PROJECT (TICAP)

GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS COMMENTS: Dated September 13, 2023

## **DISTRIBUTION:**

WReckley

PUBLIC
RidsNrrDanu Resource
RidsNrrDanuUarp Resource
JSegala
SLynch
JSebrosky
ACubbage
MOrenak
IJung
MStutzke

#### **ADAMS Accession No.**

#### **NRC-001**

OFFICE	NRR/DANU/UARP/PM	NRR/DANU/UARP/BC	NRR/DANU/UARP/PM
NAME	JSebrosky	SLynch	JSebrosky
DATE	8/25/23	9/13/23	9/13/23

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

# August 22, 2023, Public Meeting to Discuss Advanced Reactor Content of Application Project and Technology Inclusive Content of Application Project Guidance Document Comments Attendance List

NAME	AFFILIATION	NAME	AFFILIATION
John Segala	NRC/NRR/DANU	Brandon Chisholm	Southern Company
Martin Stutzke	NRC/NRR/DANU	Ben Holtzman	Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI)
Steve Lynch	NRC/NRR/DANU/UARP	Steven Nesbit	LMNT Consulting
William Reckley	NRC/NRR/DANU/UARP	Dennis Henneke	General Electric
Katie Wagner	NRC/NRR/DANU/UARP	Ed Lyman	Union of Concerned Scientist
Joe Sebrosky	NRC/NRR/DANU/UARP	Mike Keller	Hybrid Power Technologies
James O'Driscoll	NRC/NRR/DANU/UARP	Charlyne Smith	Breakthrough Institute
Scott Tonsfeldt	NRC/NRR/DANU/UARP	Brandon Norris	X-energy
Ossy Font	NRC/NRR/DANU/UARP	Brandon Hartle	X-energy
Anders Gilberston	NRC/NRR/DANU/UARP	Charlotte Geiger	X-energy
Ramachandran Subbaratnam	NRC/NRR/DANU/UARP	Eric Oesterle	Westinghouse
Michael Orenak	NRC/NRR/DANU/UAL1	Dave Grabaskas	Argonne National Lab
Zachary Stone	NRC/NRR/DANU/UAL1	Jason Andrus	Idaho National Lab
Ondra Dukes	NRC/NRR/DANU/UAL2	Mike Montecalvo	TerraPower
Jorge Hernandez Munoz	NRC/NRR/DANU/UAL2	Rob Burg	Not Available (NA)
Greg Oberson	NRC/NRR/DANU/UTB1	Kaci Studer	NA
lan Jung	NRC/NRR/DANU/UTB1	Mike Tschiltz	NA
Clair Song	NRC/NRR/DANU/UTB1	Peter Kissinger	NA
Thomas Scarbrough	NRC/NRR/DEX/EMIB	Farshid Shahrokh	NA
Zachary Gran	NRC/NRR/DANU/UTB2	Ashley Harper	NA
Hanh Phan	NRC/NRR/DANU/UTB2	Matt Henderickson	NA
Michelle Hart	NRC/NRR/DANU/UTB2	Lisa Williams	NA
Robert Weisman	NRC/OGC	Yan Gao	NA
Marcia Carpentier	NRC/OGC	George Flanagan	NA
Max Smith	NRC/OGC	Caroline Tilton	NA
Jen Scro	NRC/OGC	Stew Yuen	NA
Alissa Neuhausen	NRC/NRR/DRA/APLC	Rick Stadtlander	NA
Tony Nakanishi	NRC/COMM/OCM	Madeline Waller	NA
Carolyn Lauron	NRC/NRR/DNRL/NLIB	Clark Shurtleff	NA
Joseph Ashcraft	NRC/NRR/DEX/EICB	Wesley Steh	NA
Joseph Giacinto	NRC/NMSS/REFS/ERNRB	Ben Chen	NA
Bob Beall	NRC/NMSS/REFS/RRPB	Andrew Brenner	NA

NAME	AFFILIATION	NAME	AFFILIATION
Ramon Gascot	NRC/RES/DE/RGPMB	Jan Bourdart	NA
Lozanda			
Jim Kinsey	INL	Kalene Walker	NA
Chris Chwasz	INL	Steven Pope	NA
Tom King	INL	Steve Ardnt	NA
Tom Hicks	INL	Kayleigh Thompson	NA
Matthew Marzano	Congress/EPW	Joan Seeman	NA
Mike Mayfield	NA	Ava Traverso	NA
Raymond Burski	NA	Andy Ratchford	NA
Iana Schimmel	NA	Lisa Peterson	NA
Sarah Fields	NA	Bobby Kunkle	NA
Keith Consani	NA		•