

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

June 1, 2023

MEMORANDUM TO: Joseph A. Proffitt, Acting Chief

Advanced Reactor Licensing Branch 1

Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-Power

Production and Utilization Facilities Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Mallecia A. Sutton, Senior Project Manage Mallecia Sutton FROM:

Signed by Sutton, Mallecia on 06/01/23 Advanced Reactor Licensing Branch 1

Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-Power

Production and Utilization Facilities Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF THE AUGUST 4, 2022, OPEN OBSERVATION

> PRE-APPLICATION MEETING WITH TERRAPOWER, LLC, PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS THE EMERGENCY PLANNING ZONE

METHODOLOGY FOR THE NATRIUM REACTOR (EPID NO.

L-2021-LRM-0071)

Meeting Information:

Applicant: TerraPower, LLC (TerraPower)

Docket/Project No.(s): 99902100

Public Meeting Notice Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS)

Accession No.: ML22213A065

Applicant Presentation Slides: ML22207B801

Meeting Attendees: See Enclosure for list of meeting attendees.

J. Proffitt - 2 -

Meeting Summary:

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff conducted the meeting in accordance with NRC Management Directive 3.5, "Attendance at NRC Staff-Sponsored Meetings" (ML21180A271).

- On August 4, 2022, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff held a public meeting with TerraPower to provide the NRC staff with an overview of the emergency planning zone (EPZ) methodology for the Natrium Reactor. Participants included representatives from TerraPower, General Electric Hitachi, Bechtel, PacifiCorp, the Breakthrough Institute, the Union of Concerned Scientists, and members of the public. The enclosure provides the list of meeting attendees.
- The NRC staff began the public meeting with introductions. During the meeting, TerraPower representatives gave an overview of the Natrium Reactor emergency planning strategy and possible exemptions under consideration. TerraPower also discussed planned licensing submittals and the Natrium plume exposure pathway EPZ methodology and application, including plans for meteorological data development. At the end of the presentation, the public had an opportunity to ask questions of the NRC staff. TerraPower representatives and the NRC staff discussed the next steps for future interactions regarding the Natrium Reactor design.

CONTACT: Mallecia A. Sutton, NRR/DANU

(301) 415-0673

Enclosure:

List of Meeting Attendees

J. Proffitt - 3 -

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF AUGUST 4, 2022, OPEN OBSERVATION PRE-APPLICATION

MEETING WITH TERRAPOWER, LLC, PUBLIC MEETING WITH TO DISCUSS THE EMERGENCY PLANNING ZONE METHODOLOGY FOR THE NATRIUM

REACTOR (EPID NO. L-2021-LRM-0071) DATED: JUNE 1, 2023

DISTRIBUTION:

PUBLIC
RidsNrrDanuUal1 Resource
RidsNrrDanu Resource
MSutton, NRR
JProffitt, NRR
CSmith, NRR

ADAMS Accession Number: ML23039A110

NRC-001

OFFICE	NRR/DANU/UAL1/PM	NRR/DANU/UAL2/LA	NRR/DANU/UAL1/BC	NRR/DANU/UAL1/PM
NAME	MSutton	CSmith	JProffitt	MSutton
DATE	5/25/2023	5/25/2023	5/31/2023	6/1/2023

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

List of Meeting Attendees

Open Observation Pre-Application Meeting with TerraPower, LLC, to Discuss the EPZ

Methodology for the Natrium Reactor

August 4, 2022

Name Organization			
Mallecia Sutton	U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)		
Mohamed Shams	NRC		
Mike Franovich	NRC		
William Jessup	NRC		
Todd Smith	NRC		
Reed Anzalone	NRC		
Michelle Hart	NRC		
Alexandra Siwy	NRC		
William Reckley	NRC		
Katie Wagner	NRC		
Marie Pohida	NRC		
Elijah Dickson	NRC		
Raymond Hoffman	NRC		
Kenneth Mott	NRC		
Eric Schrader	NRC		
Amanda Marshall	NRC		
Angel Moreno	NRC		
George Wilson	TerraPower, LLC (TerraPower)		
Ryan Sprengel	TerraPower		
John Biersdorf	TerraPower		
Leslie Holden	TerraPower		
Brian Johnson	TerraPower		
Stacy Gillin	TerraPower		
Pamela Fergen	TerraPower		
Benoit Dionne	TerraPower		
Seth Netterstrom	TerraPower		
Paula Freyer	General Electric Hitachi		
Dennis Henneke	General Electric Hitachi		
Lisa Schichlein	General Electric Hitachi		
Steve Kline	Bechtel		
Alice Carson	Bechtel		
Chuck Tack	PacifiCorp		
Rani Franovich	Breakthrough Institute		
Leigh Anne Lloveras	Breakthrough Institute		
Edwin Lyman	Union of Concerned Scientists		
Austin Clark	Public Citizen		
Steven Pope	Public Citizen		
Brian Mount	Public Citizen		
David Louis Daigle	Public Citizen		
Anthony DeFelice	Public Citizen		
Emma Redfoot	Public Citizen		

Ingrid Nordby	Public Citizen
Jarad O'Brien	Public Citizen
Jeremy Jones	Public Citizen
Jong Chang	Public Citizen
Keith Krauland	Public Citizen
Brandon Hartle	Public Citizen
Pete Kissinger	Public Citizen
Leslie Holden	Public Citizen
Ryan Lighty	Public Citizen
Lisa Matis	Public Citizen
Michele Irwin	Public Citizen
Mary Diané	Public Citizen
Bruce Musico	Public Citizen
Nathan Jackson	Public Citizen
Michael Norris	Public Citizen
Shannon Anderson	Public Citizen
Tom Brandt	Public Citizen
Bruce Foreman	Public Citizen