

# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001

December 2, 2022

MEMORANDUM TO: Scott W. Moore, Executive Director

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

FROM: Joy L. Rempe, Chairman

Signed by Rempe, Joy

on 12/02/22

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE 699th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY

COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS),

OCTOBER 5-7, 2022

I hereby certify, to the best of my knowledge and belief, that the minutes of the subject meeting are an accurate record of the proceedings for that meeting. In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," the enclosure of this memo serves as the certified minutes.

Enclosure:

699th ACRS Meeting Minutes

cc: Russell Chazell, SECY

Dante Johnson, OEDO Todd Keene, OEDO

ACRS staff

**ACRS** members

CONTACT: L. Burkhart, ACRS

301-287-3775



## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS WASHINGTON, DC 20555 - 0001

December 2, 2022

MEMORANDUM TO:	Scott W. Moore,	, Executive Director

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

FROM: Joy L. Rempe, Chairman

Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE 699th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY

COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS (ACRS),

OCTOBER 5-7, 2022

I hereby certify, to the best of my knowledge and belief, that the minutes of the subject meeting are an accurate record of the proceedings for that meeting. In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," the enclosure of this memo serves as the certified minutes.

Enclosure:

699th ACRS Meeting Minutes

cc: Russell Chazell, SECY

Dante Johnson, OEDO

Todd Keene, OEDO

ACRS staff ACRS members

CONTACT: L. Burkhart, ACRS

301-287-3775

Accession No: ML22334A074 Publicly Available (Y/N): \_Y\_\_\_ Sensitive (Y/N): N

If Sensitive, which category?

Viewing Rights: ☐ NRC Users or ☐ ACRS only or ☐ See restricted distribution

OFFICE	ACRS	ACRS/SUNSI Review	ACRS	ACRS
NAME	WWang(WW)	WWang(WW)	LBurkhart	JRempe(JR)
DATE	11/30/2022	11/30/2022	12/1/2022	12/2/2022

**OFFICIAL RECORD COPY** 

### MINUTES OF THE 699th MEETING OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

In accordance with Title 10 of the *Code of Federal Regulations*, Part 7, "ADVISORY COMMITTEES," Section 7.13, "Minutes of advisory committee meetings," this document serves as the certified minutes.

The 699<sup>th</sup> meeting of the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) was conducted in person and virtually during the Agency's re-entry program on October 5-7, 2022.

The summary report from the ACRS Chairman to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Chairman contains the following information for this meeting: (1) an accurate description of each matter discussed and (2) a list of all the documents issued or approved by the Committee.

A transcript of selected portions of the meeting is available in the NRC's public document room (pdr.resource@nrc.gov or 1-800-397-4209), or from the Publicly Available Records System (PARS) component of the NRC's document system (ADAMS), or at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/doc-collections/acrs/agenda. The transcript along with the list of attendees provides information on the level of public attendance and participation.

Details of the meeting information can be found in the following documents:

- 1. Full committee meeting agenda (ML22252A041)
- 2. Summary report (ML22304A700)
- 3. Transcript (ML22293B779 and ML22297A041)

#### ACRS MEETING ATTENDEES

#### **ACRS Members**

Dr. Joy Rempe (Chairman), Dr. Walter Kirchner (Vice-Chairman), Dr. David Petti (Member-at-Large), Mr. Matthew Sunseri, Dr. Ronald Ballinger, Mr. Charles Brown, Dr. Vesna Dimitrijevic, Dr. Jose March-Leuba, Dr. Vicki Bier, and Mr. Gregory Halnon

#### **ACRS Consultants**

Dr. Dennis Bley

Dr. Stephen Schultz

#### **ACRS Staff**

- Z. Abdullahi
- C. Antonescu
- T. Dashiell
- A. Bellinger
- C. Brown
- L. Burkhart
- S. Walton
- S. Moore
- Q. Nguyen

- H. Nourbakhsh
- J. Riner
- J. Perry M. Snodderly T. Skov
- D. Widmayer S. Walker W. Wang

The Appendix lists additional meeting attendees from computer program MS TEAMS.

### APPENDIX: ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES FROM COMPUTER PROGRAM MS TEAMS

Alan Masinter
Alina Schiller
Allen Hiser
Amanda Marshall
Amy Hull
Anders Gilbertson
Andrea Silvia (She/Her/Hers)
Andrew Proffitt
Bergman, Jana
Brandon Haley (NuScale) (Guest)
Brian Harris
Caroline Carusone
David Dijamco
Diana Diaz Toro
Edwin Lyman
Ekaterina Lenning
Forbes, Sally
Gabe Taylor
Gift, Frank
Greg Oberson (He/Him/His)
Hammon, Beth (EPW)
Hoffman, Raymond
Huda Akhavannik
Hughes, Lauren
Isaac Anchondo-Lopez
James Maltese
janalb@comcast.net (Guest)
Jeff Poehler
Jennings, Robert
Jeremiah Doyle (NuScale) (Guest)
Jeremy Bowen
John McKirgan
John Segala
Jose Pires
Joseph McManus
Joseph Messina
Kevin Williams
Khambatta, Parvez N
Khanna, Meena
Laura Smith (She/Her)
Lenhart, Anna
Lisa Dimmick
LISA DITITION

Liz English (Guest)
Mackereth, Nathaniel J
Madhumita Sircar
Marilyn Diaz Maldonado
Mark Chitty (NuScale Licensing) (Guest)
Marzano, Matthew (EPW)
Mathew Panicker
Matt Thomas
Matthew Gordon
Mekonen Bayssie
Michael Dudek
Michelle Hart
Mo Sadollah
Nakanishi, Tony
Nardella, Gene
Park, Sunwoo
Raymond Hoffman
Reena Boruk
Robert Taylor
Robert Tregoning
Sachin Desai
Saenz, Diego S - DHS
Sam Wojack - Court Reporter (Guest)
Sarah Bristol, NuScale Power (Guest)
Sarah Fields (Guest)
Schiller, Alina
Scott Tonsfeldt
Shah Malik
Shaw, Guinevere
Shilp Vasavada
Shober, Megan L - DHS
Smith, Todd
Staudenmeier, Joseph
Stephanie Devlin-Gill (She/Her)
Steve Ruffin
Steven Lynch
Suzanne Dennis (She/Her/Hers)
Tabatabai, Omid
Teri Lalain
Tesfaye, Getachew
Tetter, Keith
Tim Tovar, Dir. Plant Ops, NuScale Power (Guest)
Vasavada, Shilp
·
William Reckley

Zee St Hilaire (They/Them)