

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

July 15, 2022

C. R. (Rick) Grantom, ASME Co-Chair Joint Committee on Nuclear Risk Management C. R. Grantom P.E. & Associates LLC 22503 West Shorewood Loop Huffman, TX 77336-2544

Dennis Henneke, ANS Co-Chair Joint Committee on Nuclear Risk Management GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy 3901 Castle Hayne Road Wilmington, NC 28401

SUBJECT: LETTER NOMINATING NRC STAFF TO THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF

MECHANICAL ENGINEERS AND AMERICAN NUCLEAR SOCIETY JOINT

COMMITTEE ON NUCLEAR RISK MANAGEMENT

Dear Mr. Grantom and Mr. Henneke:

I would like to nominate several U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff to be the authorized NRC representatives or alternates on various committees of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and American Nuclear Society (ANS) Joint Committee on Nuclear Risk Management (JCNRM). These individuals, listed in Enclosure 1, are nominated because they bring the necessary expertise and education to support development and maintenance of probabilistic risk assessment (PRA) standards in the related technical areas. In addition, some NRC staff previously nominated to serve on JCNRM committees are no longer able to participate. I request that these individuals (also listed in Enclosure 1) be removed from the JCNRM roster of NRC representatives. This nominating letter reflects the recent changes in the JCNRM's organizational structure and supersedes a nomination letter sent to you on December 3, 2020 (See Agencywide Document Access and Management System Package No. ML20280A783).

NRC alternate representatives are actively involved with review of JCNRM PRA standards and guidance, and we request they be given access to C&S Connect. New NRC staff nominees will submit completed ASME Participant Acknowledgement Forms and previously nominated NRC staff submitted completed ASME Participant Acknowledgement Forms at the time of their nomination. The NRC acknowledges that, for those identified members or alternates participating on voting committees, only one of those individuals is permitted to vote on a given ballot. Additionally, some NRC staff members are designated neither as an NRC representative nor an NRC alternate representative. These NRC staff members will also bring necessary expertise and education to support development and maintenance of PRA standards in related technical areas; however, official NRC staff views, perspectives, and positions will continue to be coordinated through the designated NRC representative or NRC alternate representative for a given JCNRM group.

In accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-119, "Federal Participation in the Development and Use of Voluntary Consensus Standards and in Conformity Assessment Activities," January 27, 2016, the participation on a committee of an NRC-authorized representative does not connote agency agreement with, or endorsement of, decisions reached by the committee, or of standards approved and published as a result of the committee's efforts. Agency representatives participating on consensus standards developing groups will, to the extent possible, ascertain the views of the agency on matters of interest and will express views that are consistent with established agency views. However, the NRC's endorsement of these standards, if desired by the NRC, would be part of a separate activity, such as incorporation by reference into rulemaking or endorsement in an NRC regulatory guide.

Correspondence to these nominated individuals should be addressed to:

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: [NRC Staff Name] Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Contact information for the nominated individuals is provided in Enclosure 2.

Thank you very much for providing the NRC with the opportunity to participate in the work of your committees. If you have any questions, please contact Anders Gilbertson, the NRC representative on the JCNRM, or his alternate, Matthew Humberstone. You can reach them at, 301-415-1541 (and 301-415-1464 (matthew.humberstone@nrc.gov), respectively.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Louise Lund NRC Standards Executive Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

EXTERNAL DISTRIBUTION:

Kaye Hyam, BNCS Staff Secretary
Director, Nuclear Codes & Standards
ASME
101 Fox Trot Way
Leesburg, VA 20176
HyamK@asme.org

Patricia Schroeder, Standards Manager American Nuclear Society 555 N Kensington Ave LA Grange Park, IL 60526-5535 pschroeder@ans.org

Matthew Denman, Chair
JCNRM Subcommittee on Infrastructure and
Standard Integration
900 Matador Drive SE
Albuquerque, NM 87123-4221
denman@kairospower.com

K. Raymond Fine, Chair
JCNRM Subcommittee on Technical
Requirements
Energy Harbor
168 East Market Street
Akron, OH 44308
krfine@energyharbor.com

Oliver Martinez, Staff Secretary S&C Project Engineer ASME MS: 6-2B Two Park Ave New York, NY 10016-5902 martinezo@asme.org

Kathy Murdoch, Standards Specialist American Nuclear Society 555 N Kensington Ave LA Grange Park, IL 60526-5535 kmurdoch@ans.org

Nathan LaBarge, Chair JCNRM Subcommittee on Nuclear Risk Standards and Guidance Westinghouse Electric Company, LLC 24 Norwottuck Drive Hadley, MA 01035-9729 labargnr@westinghouse.com

Stuart R. Lewis, Chair JCNRM Subcommittee on Risk Applications 1627 Nighbert Lane Knoxville, TN 37922-5400 srlewis7779@gmail.com SUBJECT: LETTER NOMINATING NRC STAFF TO THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF

MECHANICAL ENGINEERS AND AMERICAN NUCLEAR SOCIETY JOINT

COMMITTEE ON NUCLEAR RISK MANAGEMENT

DATED: JULY 15, 2022

INTERNAL DISTRIBUTION:

J. Bowen, NRR J. Whitman, NRR M. Gonzalez, RES M. Khanna. NRR A. Zoulis, NRR A. Grady, NRR T. Lalain, RES K. Coyne, RES M. Hart, NRR J. McKirgan, RES J. Pires, RES T. Hilsmeier, NRR L. Betancourt, RES M. Stutzke, NRR M. Humberstone, RES S. Weerakkody, NRR C. De Messieres, NRR J. Kanney, RES J. Lane, RES M. Hayes, NRR J. Xu, RES K. Hsueh, NRR M. Biro, NRR N. Melly, RES A. Brown, NRR C. Moulton, NRR J. Nakoski, RES R. Pascarelli, NRR J. Chang, RES A. Neuhausen, NRR C. Ng. NRR S. Peters, RES K. Compton, RES H. Phan, NRR S. Philpott, NRR S. Cooper, RES S. Rosenberg, NRR J. DeJesus, RES M. Pohida, NRR M. Salley, RES E. Dickson, NRR K. Tetter, NRR M. Valentin, NRR J. Evans, NRR J. Wood, RES I. Garcia, NSIR S. Vasavada, NRR D. Wu, NRR

ADAMS Accession No.: ML22173A201

OFFICE	RES/PRB/DRA	RES/DE/RGPMB	RES/PRB/DRA	RES/DE/RGPMB	RES/DE/RGPMB	RES/DRA
NAME	A. Gilbertson	R. Roche-Rivera	M. Reisi Fard	B. Curran	M. Rahimi (w/changes)	C. Araguas
DATE	06/27/2022	06/27/2022	06/27/2022	06/27/2022	06/30/2022	07/05/2022
OFFICE	RES/DSA	NRR/DRA	NRR/DANU	NSIR/DPCP	RES/DE	
NAME	K. Webber	M. Franovich	M. Shams	M. Sampson	L. Lund	
DATE	07/14/2022	07/01/2022	07/01/2022	07/01/2022	07/15/2022	

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY