

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

February 14, 2022

MEMORANDUM TO: William Kennedy, Acting Chief

Advanced Reactor Licensing Branch

Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-Power

Production and Utilization Facilities
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM: Mallecia Sutton, Senior Project Manager

Advanced Reactor Licensing Branch

Division of Advanced Reactors and Non-Power

Production and Utilization Facilities
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF NOVEMBER 17, 2021, PRE-APPLICATION

PUBLIC MEETING WITH TERRAPOWER, LLC TO DISCUSS THE NATRIUM REACTOR ENERGY ISLAND DECOUPLING

Mallecia Sutton Signed by Sutton, Malle on 02/14/22

(EPID NO. L-2021-LRM-0071)

On November 17, 2021, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff held an observation public meeting with TerraPower, LLC (TerraPower) to provide the NRC staff with an overview of the decoupling concept and its implementation for the Natrium Reactor. The public meeting notice, dated November 2, 2021, can be found in the NRC's Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS) under Accession No. ML21319A399. The presentation slides can be found in ADAMS under Accession No. ML21319A245. Participants included personnel from the NRC, TerraPower, General Electric Hitachi, Bechtel, Duke Energy, and members of the public. The enclosure to this memorandum provides the list of meeting attendees.

This pre-application interaction provided information on the decoupling strategy, describing how interactions are planned to occur between the Nuclear Island and the Energy Island in regard to the Natrium plant design. Additionally, expected flexibilities gained from this approach were described.

The NRC staff began the public meeting with an introduction and explanation of logistical information. The NRC staff explained that the meeting was an observation meeting and that TerraPower representatives would provide the NRC staff with an overview of the decoupling concept and its implementation for the Natrium Reactor.

During the meeting, TerraPower provided an overview of the Natrium decoupling strategy, including expected: operational flexibilities, separation of transients, and regulatory separation (e.g., reduction of regulatory review of Energy Island). TerraPower representatives stated that

CONTACT: Mallecia Sutton, NRR/DANU

301-415-0673

they planned on submitting a white paper to the NRC for review on the topic of Energy Island Decoupling in early-2022. At the end of the presentation, the public had an opportunity to ask questions of the NRC staff. The NRC staff asked for feedback, concerns, and any improvements that can be made to the public meeting process at the closure of the meeting.

Project No. 99902100

Enclosure: List of Attendees SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF NOVEMBER 17, 2021, PRE-APPLICATION PUBLIC MEETING

WITH TERRAPOWER, LLC TO DISCUSS THE NATRIUM REACTOR ENERGY ISLAND DECOUPLING (EPID NO. L-2021-LRM-0071) DATED: FEBRUARY 14,

2022

DISTRIBUTION:

WKennedy, NRR CVanWert, NRR

PUBLIC
DANU R/F
RidsNrrDanu Resource
RidsNrrLACSmith Resource
RidsNrrLACSmith Resource
MSutton, NRR
KWagner, NRR
ASiwy, NRR
IJung, NRR
BTharakan, NRR
BAdams, NRR
JAshcraft, NRR
KLawson-Jenkins, NSIR
MGordon, RES
WOrders, NRR

ADAMS Accession Number: ML21362A652

NRR-106

OFFICE	NRR/DANU/UARL/PM	NRR/DANU/UARL/PM	NRR/DANU/UARL/LA
NAME	KWagner	MSutton	CSmith (SLent for)
DATE	01/10/2022	01/10/2022	02/10/2022
OFFICE	NRR/DANU/UARL/BC(A)	NRR/DANU/UARL/PM	
NAME	WKennedy	MSutton	
DATE	02/10/2022	02/14/2022	

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

List of Attendees

Public Meeting between TerraPower and the NRC Staff to Discuss the Natrium Reactor Energy Island Decoupling

Wednesday, November 17, 2021 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

<u>Name</u>	<u>Organization</u>	
Mallecia Sutton	U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)	
Chris Van Wert	NRC	
Katherine Wagner	NRC	
Alexandra Siwy	NRC	
lan Jung	NRC	
Binesh Tharakan	NRC	
Ben Adams	NRC	
Joseph Ashcraft	NRC	
Kim Lawson-Jenkins	NRC	
Matthew Gordon	NRC	
William Orders	NRC	
Ryan Sprengel	TerraPower, LLC (TerraPower)	
Bryan Eyers	TerraPower	
Eric Williams	TerraPower	
Seth Krueger	TerraPower	
Bassem El-Dasher	TerraPower	
Aaron Martin	TerraPower	
lan Gifford	TerraPower	
Chris Dayton	TerraPower	
Mark Werner	TerraPower	
Amir Moid	TerraPower	
Brian Johnson	TerraPower	
Lisa Schichlein	General Electric Hitachi (GEH)	
Eric Lowen	GEH	
Lee Meek	GEH	
Christopher Robinson	GEH	
Lynn Van-Derpoel	Bechtel	
Steven Kline	Bechtel	
Chris Nolan	Duke Energy	
Lee Grzeck	Duke Energy	
Alexander Ludick	Public Citizen	
Barbara Warren	Public Citizen	
Bernard van der Watt	Public Citizen	
Linda Boeheim	Public Citizen	
Bret Randall	Public Citizen	

<u>Name</u>	<u>Organization</u>
Mark Ring	Public Citizen
Lisa Matis	Public Citizen
Cammie Cheng	Public Citizen
Tom Seewald	Public Citizen
David Train	Public Citizen
Wiehahn van Wyk	Public Citizen
David Louis Daigle	Public Citizen
Ewa Muzikova	Public Citizen
Frederik Reitsma	Public Citizen
John Fletcher	Public Citizen
John Ruppert	Public Citizen
Juniad Razvi	Public Citizen