

The Nuclear Engineering Department Heads Organization (NEDHO) congregates heads of nuclear engineering schools, departments, and programs in North America to address issues facing academic programs in nuclear science and engineering.

Officers: Kostadin Ivanov (Chair) North Carolina State University

Todd R. Allen (Vice Chair/Chair Elect) University of Michigan

Steven Biegalski (Immediate Past Chair), Georgia Institute of Technology

Arthur T. Motta (Past Chair), The Pennsylvania State University

Brian Woods (Past Chair), Oregon State University

Ray Furstenau Director of Nuclear Regulatory Research U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

April 23, 2021

Dear Ray

This letter is first to express our appreciation for the NRC University Programs in Scholarship/Fellowships and Research and Faculty Development. Such programs have had a very positive impact on our departments over the years.

We are also writing to urge NRC to consider a significant change that could make these programs even more effective. We recommend that the NRC allow foreign faculty, who are hired into our departments on the tenure track, to compete for and receive Faculty Development Grants and Research grants. Currently only citizens or permanent residents are allowed to apply for these grants.

The reasoning for the request is that a significant fraction of faculty in US Nuclear Engineering Departments are, in fact, foreign born. These people bring their talents and contributions to this country and, in the natural course of events, become permanent residents and citizens, which ultimately benefits US students and society as a whole. However, the point in their career at which they need the most help and support (soon after hiring and needing to establish themselves) is when they cannot be supported.

We believe that allowing these faculty to apply for these grants will ultimately benefit nuclear engineering students, our department, and the country as a whole.

Thank you for considering this request,

It

Kostadin N. Ivanov NEDHO Chair 2020-2021 Nuclear Engineering Department, Head, North Carolina State University



Todd R. Allen

Vice Chair/Chair Elect, NEDHO 2020-2021

Glenn F. and Gladys H. Knoll Department Chair of Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, University of Michigan

Steven Biegalski

Immediate Past Chair, NEDHO,

Nuclear and Radiological Engineering and Medical Physics Program Chair, Georgia Tech

Arthur T. Motta

NEDHO Chair 2018-2019,

Ken and Mary Alice Lindquist Department of Nuclear Engineering, Penn State University

Brian Woods

NEDHO Chair 2017-2018,

Busile level

Department Head School of Nuclear Science and Engineering,

Oregon State University