

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

November 4, 2020

Mr. Larry Wetzel, Chairman Nuclear Criticality Safety Consensus Committee American Nuclear Society 555 North Kensington Avenue La Grange Park, IL, 60526 Ilwetzel@bwxt.com

SUBJECT: LETTER NOMINATING MR. JEREMY SMITH TO THE AMERICAN NUCLEAR SOCIETY WORKING GROUPS ANSI/ANS-8.14 AND 8.21

Dear Mr. Wetzel:

I would like to nominate Mr. Jeremy Smith as the authorized U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) representative to the American Nuclear Society (ANS) working groups for ANS-8.14, "Use of Soluble Neutron Absorbers in Nuclear Facilities Outside Reactors," and ANS-8.21, "Use of Fixed Neutron Absorbers in Nuclear Facilities Outside Reactors." Mr. Smith is a Senior Nuclear Engineer responsible for the licensing of NRC-regulated fuel facilities and transportation certificate holders.

In accordance with the Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-119, "Federal Participation in the Development and Use of Voluntary Consensus Standards and in Conformity Assessment Activities," January 27, 2016, the participation on a committee of an NRC-authorized representative does not connote agency agreement with, or endorsement of, decisions reached by the committee, or of standards approved and published as a result of the committee's efforts. Agency representatives participating on consensus standards developing groups will, to the extent possible, ascertain the views of the agency on matters of interest and will express views that are consistent with established agency views.

However, the NRC's endorsement of these standards, if desired by the NRC, would be part of a separate activity, such as incorporation by reference into rulemaking or endorsement in an NRC regulatory guide.

Correspondence should be addressed to:

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: Mr. Jeremy Smith M/S: T-4B72 Washington, D.C. 20555 Telephone (301) 415-7308 E-mail: Jeremy.Smith@nrc.gov Thank you very much for providing NRC with the opportunity to participate in the work of your committee.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Louise Lund, NRC Standards Executive Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

CC:

Patricia Schroeder, Standards Manager American Nuclear Society 555 N. Kensington Avenue La Grange Park, IL 60525 pschroeder@ans.org

Kristan Wessels, Chairperson Consolidated Nuclear Security, LLC Y-12 National Security Complex Post Office Box 2009 Oak Ridge, TN 37831 kristan.wessels@cns.doe.gov

David Erickson, Chairperson Savannah River Nuclear Solutions 203 Laurens St. SW Aiken, SC 29801 dg erickson@blueheron.us

DISTRIBUTION:

FCSE r/f NMSS/DFM FCSE r/f

ADAMS Accession Numbers: ML20294A258

OFFICE	NMSS/DFM	NMSS/DFM	NMSS/DFM	RES/DE	RES/DE	RES/DE
NAME					HKaragiannis	
	JMunson	RChang	CRegan	RRoche-Rivera	for MRahimi	LLund
DATE	10/21/2020	10/21/2020	10/21/2020	10/26/2020	10/26/2020	11/04/2020

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY