Docket Nos. 50-603 50-604

All Chemical Isotope Enrichment, Inc. ATTN: Mr. John A. Smelser, Jr. Chief Executive Officer Pine Ridge Office Park, Suite 202-B 702 South Illinois Park Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830

Gentlemen:

On February 10, 1989, we issued to All Chemical Isotope Enrichment, Inc. (AlChemIE) construction permits which contained a condition which is, in CPEP-1,

"Other than as provided in Condition III.6 of this Construction Permit, AlChemIE shall not commence any activity authorized by this permit until the Commission determines that AlChemIE has provided an adequate amount of assured funding for decommissioning in a form consistent with the method AlChemIE has chosen to meet the requirements of 10 CFR Part 50, § 50.75(e)."

and in CPEP-2,

"Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Construction Permit, AlChemIE shall not commence any activity authorized by this permit until the Commission determines that AlChemIE has provided an adequate amount of assured funding for decommissioning in a form consistent with the method AlChemIE has chosen to meet the requirements of 10 CFR Part 50, § 50.75(e)."

In this proceeding, the concern has been for protection of the common defense and security by control of the classified machinery. The decommissioning regulations in 10 CFR 50.75 are designed to protect the public health and safety and are not directed toward issues relating to common defense and security. The funding arrangements you have offered in this proceeding, including the January 3, 1989 Standby Letter of Credit and Standby Trust Agreement, are sufficient to provide reasonable assurance of the financial qualification of AlChemIE to provide adequate protection of the common defense and security.

Accordingly, by virtue of this letter you may consider that the above noted conditions are not applicable. Additionally, no further response is required to our letter to you dated February 1, 1989, subject "Amount in Standby Letter of Credit".

If you have any quarions regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to call Jerry J. Swift at (301) 492-0609.

FOR THE NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

(Mened) Robert M. Bernero

Robert M. Bernero, Director Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

cc: Attached List

Michael H. Mobley, Director Division of Radiological Health Tennessee Department of Health and Environment T.E.R.R.A Building 150 9th Avenue North Nashville, TN 37203

Tennessee Department of Public Health ATTN: Director, Bureau of Environmental Health Services Cordell Hull Building Nashville, TN 37219

Mr. Wayne K. Scharber
Director of Environment
Tennessee Department of Health and
Environment
1st Floor Terra Building
150 9th Avenue North
Nashville, TN 37203

Ms. Carol White Federal Affairs Coordinator State of Tennessee 309 John Severe Office Building 500 Charlotte Avenue Nashville, TN 37219 The Honorable Roy F. Pruett Mayor Post Office Box 1 Oak Ridge, TN 37831

Mr. Jeffrey Broughton City Manager Post Office Box 1 Oak Ridge, TN 37831

Mr. William D. Harris Fire Chief Post Office Box 1 Oak Ridge, TN 37830

Ms. Virginia Dale Chair Environmental Quality Advisory Board Post Office Box 1 Oak Ridge, TN 37831

The Honorable Kenneth E. Yager Roane County Executive Roane County Courthouse P. O. Box 643 Kingston, TN 37763

The Honorable David O. Bolling County Executive, Anderson County Courthouse Main Street Clinton, TN 37716

The Honorable Stanley Justice Mayor Post Office Box 303 Oliver Springs, TN 37840

Mr. Howard Elliot City Administrator Post Office Box 303 Oliver Springs, TN 37840 Mr. Ronald Herbert
U.S. Department of Housing
and Urban Development
Office of Urban Development
Action Grants
451 7th Street, S.W., Room 7274
Washington, DC 20410

Mr. Larry A. Forsythe U.S. Department of Energy MS NE-34 Germantown Washington, DC 20545

Mr. Joe W. Parks
Deputy Assistant Manager
for Enriching Operations
U.S. Department of Energy
Oak Ridge Operations
P. O. Box 2001
Oak Ridge, TN 37831-8650

Ms. Jennifer Fowler U.S. Department of Energy P. O. Box E Oak Ridge, TN 37831 Morton B. Margalies, Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Muclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Dr. Oscar H. Paris Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Frederick J. Shon Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Mr. Jack 6. Whetstine Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Thomas S. Moore, Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Christine N. Kohl Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Howard A. Wilber
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Appeal Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555