8340

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

COMMISSIONERS:

Lando W. Zech, Jr., Chairman Thomas M. Roberts Kenneth M. Carr Kenneth C. Rogers James R. Curtiss '89 MAR 22 P4:39

ini No

BRANC

PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF

NEW HAMPSHIRE

(Seabrook Station, Units 1 and 2

SERVED MAR 22 1989

Docket Nos. 50-443-0L-1 50-444-0L-1 (Onsite Emergency Planning and Safety Issues)

ORDER

In its December 21, 1988 Order, CLI-88-10, the Commission authorized issuance of a license to operate Seabrook at low power conditioned on prior (1) satisfactory completion of decommissioning funding required and (2) conclusion of any litigation on new "onsite" emergency planning issues. In response to a request for a housekeeping stay to permit stay motions before us or before a Court of Appeals, the Commission delayed the effectiveness of its order for 10 days from the date when the last of these conditions was satisfied. Since then the onsite litigation has been concluded by the Licensing Board Order dated January 30, 1989 (LBP-89-04), and by letter dated March 20, 1989, Applicants have filled their decommissioning funding documents for review by the Staff. While the Commission intimates no view whatsoever on the adequacy of the Applicants' submittal, the Commission believes that in these circumstances the interests of the parties will be served by the establishment of a schedule for consideration of any stay applications in

D502-

the event the Staff serves notice that Applicants have met the Commission's requirement (Staff Notice).

All papers, including the Staff Notice, shall be filed with the Commission and served on the active parties by hand or by overnight express. If the due date for any paper falls on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday the paper shall be filed on the next day which is not a Saturday, Sunday or holiday. No other time allowances are contemplated; time allowance for service has been included in the designated times.

<u>Within 5 days</u> from the date following service of any Staff notice, any stay applications shall be filed with the Commission. Parties need not repeat their arguments for a stay of the Licensing Board's Decision rejecting the onsite exercise contention (LBP 89-04), as those arguments are already before the Commission for consideration.

Stay oppositions shall be filed within 4 days from the service of an application for a stay.

The Commission will rule on timely stay applications expeditiously; however, no low power license shall issue before the Commission's ruling. The Commission's order will also decide the stay applications before it related to LBP 89-04 and the Massachusetts Attorney General's "Second Motion for Reconsideration of CLI-88-10" dated March 3, 1989, based on conditions related to low-level waste disposal.

For the Commission,

Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland this 22 day of March, 1989

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of

PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF NEW HAMPSHIRE, ET AL. (Seabrook Station, Units 1 and 2) Docket No. (s) 50-443/444-0L-1

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing COMMISSION ORDER DTD 3/22/89 have been served upon the following persons by U.S. mail, first class, except as otherwise noted and in accordance with the requirements of 10 CFR Sec. 2.712.

Administrative Judge Alan S. Rosenthal. Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensino Appeal U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Administrative Judge Howard A. Wilber Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Administrative Judge Jerry Harbour Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Repulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Administrative Judge Emmeth A. Luebke 5500 Friendship Boulevard, Apt. 1923N U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Chevy Chase, MD 20815

Diane Curran, Esq. Harmon, Curran & Tousley 2001 S Street, N.W., Suite 430 Washington, DC 20009

Administrative Judge Thomas S. Moore Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Administrative Judge Peter B. Bloch, Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Administrative Law Judge Ivan W. Smith Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Edwin J. Reis, Esq. Office of the General Counsel Washington, DC 20555

Thomas G. Dignan, Jr., Esq. Ropes & Grav One International Place Boston, MA 02110

Docket No. (s) 50-443/444-0L-1 COMMISSION ORDER DTD 3/22/89

Robert A. Backus, Esq. Backus, Meyer & Solomon 116 Lowell Street Manchester, NH 03106

Gary W. Holmes, Esq. Holmes & Ells 47 Winnacunnet Road Hamoton, NH 03842

Barton Z. Cowan, Esq. Eckert, Seamans, Cherin & Mellott 600 Brant Street, 42 Floor Pittsburgh, PA 15219

George W. Watson, Esq. 500 C Street, S.W. Washington, DC 20472

George D. Bisbee, Esq. Assistant Attorney General George D. Bisbee, Esq. Office of the Attorney General 25 Capitol Street Concord, NH 03301

John Traficonte, Esq. John Traficonte, Esq. Chief, Nuclear Safety Unit Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor Boston, MA 02108

Philip Ahrens, Esq. Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General State House Station, #6 Augusta, ME 04333

Paul McEachern, Esq. Shaines & McEachern 25 Maplewood Avenue, P.O. Box 360 Portsmouth, NH 03801

Charles P. Graham, Esq. McKay, Murphy and Graham 100 Main Street Amesbury, MA 01913

Jane Doughty Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Edward A. Thomas Federal Emergency Management Agency Federal Emergency Management Agency 442 J.W. McCormack (POCH) Boston, MA 02109

> Suzanne Breiseth Board of Selectmen Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Matthew T. Brock, Esq. Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor Boston, MA 02108

The Honorable Edward J. Markey, Chairman ATTN: Linda Correia Subcommittee on Energy Conservation and House Committee on Energy and Commerce Washington, DC 20515

Docket No. (s) 50-443/444-0L-1 COMMISSION ORDER DTD 3/22/89

Richard A. Hampe, Esq. Hampe & McNicholas 35 Pleasant Street Concord, NH 03301

Allen Lampert Civil Defense Director Town of Brentwood 20 Franklin Street Exeter, NH 03833

Sandra Gavutis, Chairman Board of Selectmen RFD #1 Box 1154 Kensington, NH 03827

Anne Goodman, Chairman Board of Selectmen 13-15 Newmarket Road Durham, NH 03824

Peter J. Matthews Mayor of Newburyport City Hall Newburyport, MA 01950

R. Scott Hill-Whilton, Esquire Stanley W. Knowles, Chairman Lagoulis, Hill-Whilton & McGuire Board of Selectmen 79 State Street Newburyport., MA 01950

The Honorable Gordon J. Humphrey ATTN: Janet Coit United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dated at Rockville, Md. this 22 day of March 1989

J. P. Nadeau Board of Selectmen 10 Central Street Rve. NH 03870

William Armstrong Civil Defense Director Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Board of Selectmen Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, MA 01913

Michael Santosuosso, Chairman Board of Selectmen South Hampton, NH 03827

P.O. Box 710 North Hampton, NH 03862

Patty Henderson