Docket No. 50-443

Mr. Edward Brown President & Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire P. O. Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Brown:

SUBJECT: PRELIMINARY REVIEW OF THE SEABROOK STATION ALERT AND NOTIFICATION SYSTEM

A preliminary draft report from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) assessing the technical adequacy of the Seabrook alert and notification system (ANS) is enclosed for your information and use in completing the Seabrook ANS. As stated in the transmittal memorandum dated January 23, 1989, FEMA's preliminary technical analysis indicates that the design is adequate. However, system enhancements remain to be completed in New Hampshire and deployment of the Vehicular Alert and Notification System needs to be completed in Massachusetts. In addition, FEMA is currently awaiting OMB approval to conduct the four remaining telephone surveys in the alert area.

Original signed by:

Victor Nerses, Project Manager Project Directorate I-3 Division of Reactor Projects I/II

Enclosure: As stated

cc: See next page

DISTRIBUTION: Docket File, NRC&Local PDRs, PDI-3 r/f, GLainas, BBoger, MRushbrook, VNerses, OGC, EJordan, BGrimes, ACRS(10), WTravers, FKantor, DPerrotti, STurk, RBellamy, JWiggins

*See previous concurrence

	:	:	:	:DIR/PDI-3		:PDI-3	
				:*RWessman	*MRushbrook	:*VNerses:mw	NAME
 		2	OFOI	:2/2/89	:2/2/89 RECORD COPY	:2/1/89 OFFICIAL	
 			DEOL	2/2/89	:2/2/89	:	

Edward A. Brown Public Service Company of New Hampshire Seabrook Nuclear Power Station

cc:

Thomas Dignan, Esq. John A. Ritscher, Esq. Ropes and Gray 225 Franklin Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Mr. Bruce B. Beckley, Project Manager Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 01830

Robert Backus, Esq. Backus, Meyer and Solomon 116 Lowell Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Diane Curran, Esq. Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, NW Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Philip Ahren, Esq. Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Mr. Edward A. Brown, President and Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Ms. Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. T. Feigenbaum Public Service Company of New Hamsphire Post Office Box 330 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 E. Tupper Kinder, Esq. G. Dana Bisbee, Esq. Assistant Attorney General Office of Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Resident Inspector US Nuclear Regulatory Commission Post Office Box 1149 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. A. M. Ebner, Project Manager United Engineers & Constructors Post Office Box 8223 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19101

Steven Oleskey, Esq. Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place P.O. Box 330 Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Carol S. Sneider, Esq. Office of the Assistant Attorney General One Ashburton Place P.O. Box 330 Boston, Massachusetts 02108

D. Pierre G. Cameron, Jr., Esq. General Counsel Public Service Company of New Hampshire Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Mr. James M. Peschel Public Service Company of New Hamsphire P.O.Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road 25 Maplewood Ave. King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

Ashod N. Amirian, Esq. Town Counsel for Merrimac 376 Main Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 08130 Edward A. Brown, Public Service Company of New Hampshire

cc:

Mr. Calvin A. Canney, City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Board of Selectmen RFD Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Ms. Suzanne Breiseth, Board of Selectmen Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, New Hampshire 03844

Mr. Guy Chichester, Chaiman Rye Nuclear Intervention Committee c/o Rye Town Hall 10 Central Road Rye, New Hampshire 03870

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

R. Scott Hill - Whilton Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton & McGuire 79 State Street Newburyport, Ma. 01950

Ms. R. Cashman, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Honorable Peter J. Matthews Mayor, City of Newburyport City Hall Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. Donald E. Chick, Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823

Mr. John C. Duffett President and Chief Executive Officer Public Service Company of New Hampshire 1000 Elm St., P.O.Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

-2- Seabrook Nuclear Power Station

Mr. Alfred V. Sargent, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Salisbury, MA 01950

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey ATTN: Tom Burack 531 Hart Senate Office Building U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Mr. Owen B. Durgin, Chairman Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Jane Spector Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 825 North Capital Street, NE Room 8105 Washington D. C. 20426

Mr. R. Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Mr. Richard Strome, Director New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Adjudicatory File (2) Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Docket U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Congressman Nicholas Mavroules 70 Washington Street Salem, Massachusetts 01970

Pr. G. Thomas
rublic Service Company of
New Hampshire
Post Office Box 330
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874