Docket No. 50-443

1 4

June 15, 1989

Mr. Edward Brown President & Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Brown:

SUBJECT: SEABROOK NUCLEAR STATION, UNIT 1, ATWS RULE 10 CFR 50.62 (TAC NO.64482)

The purpose of this memorandum is to forward the enclosed (Enclosure 1) safety evaluation associated with the proposed implementation of the ATWS Rule (10 CFR 50.62) requirements as related to the Seabrook Station, Unit 1.

The staff has concluded that, pending the final resolution of the technical specification issue, the ATWS design proposed by New Hampshire Yankee is in compliance with the ATWS Rule requirements of 10 CFR 50.62, paragraph (c) (1). Further, the staff's conclusion is based on the successful completion of certain noted human-factors engineering reviews. Please refer to the enclosed evaluation for details on the subject ATWS design.

We would like to emphasize the importance of an expeditious installation of this design modification. It is our understanding that installation will be completed before September 1990. We request that this schedule be confirmed.

Sincerely,

151

Victor Nerses, Project Manager Project Directorate I-3 Division of Reactor Projects I/II Office of Nucelar Reactro Regulation Thomas E. Murley, Director Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Enclosure: As stated

cc w/encl: See next page

PDI-3 MRushbrook 6/ /89 6//5789

DIR/PDID3

RWessman 6/15/89

8906220258 890615 PDR ADOCK 05000443 PDC PDC

DFOL

Edward A. Brown, Public Service Company of New Hampshire

cc:

· ....

, \*

Mr. Calvin A. Canney, City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Board of Selectmen RFD Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Ms. Suzanne Breiseth, Board of Selectmen Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, New Hampshire 03844

Mr. Guy Chichester, Chairman Rye Nuclear Intervention Committee c/o Rye Town Hall 10 Central Road Rye, New Hampshire 03870

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

R. Scott Hill - Whilton Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton & McGuire 79 State Street Newburyport, Ma. 01950

Ms. R. Cashman, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Honorable Peter J. Matthews Mayor, City of Newburyport City Hall Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. Donald E. Chick, Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823

Mr. John C. Duffett President and Chief Executive Officer Public Service Company of New Hampshire 1000 Elm St., P.O.Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

-2- Seabrook Nuclear Power Station

Mr. Alfred V. Sargent, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Salisbury, MA 01950 Senator Gordon J. Humphrey ATTN: Tom Burack 531 Hart Senate Office Building U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 Mr. Owen B. Durgin, Chairman Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824 Jane Spector Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 825 North Capital Street, N.E. Room 8105 Washington D. C. 20426 Mr. R. Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814 Mr. Richard Strome, Director New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301 Adjudicatory File (2) Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Docket U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555 Congressman Nicholas Mavroules 70 Washington Street Salem, Massachusetts 01970 Mr. G. Thomas Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874



## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

June 15, 1989

Docket No. 50-443

Mr. Edward Brown President & Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Brown:

SUBJECT: SEABROOK NUCLEAR STATION, UNIT 1, ATWS RULE 10 CFR 50.62 (TAC NO.64482)

The purpose of this memorandum is to forward the enclosed (Enclosure 1) safety evaluation associated with the proposed implementation of the ATWS Rule (10 CFR 50.62) requirements as related to the Seabrook Station. Unit 1.

The staff has concluded that, pending the final resolution of the technical specification issue, the ATWS design proposed by New Hampshire Yankee is in compliance with the ATWS Rule requirements of 10 CFR 50.62, paragraph (c) (1). Further, the staff's conclusion is based on the successful completion of certain noted human-factors engineering reviews. Please refer to the enclosed evaluation for details on the subject ATWS design.

We would like to emphasize the importance of an expeditious installation of this design modification. It is our understanding that installation will be completed before September 1990. We request that this schedule be confirmed.

Sincerely,

liter reises

Victor Nerses, Project Manager Project Directorate I-3 Division of Reactor Projects I/II Office of Nucelar Reactro Regulation

Enclosure: As stated

cc w/encl: See next page

Edward A. Brown Public Service Company of New Hampshire

Thomas Dignan, Esq. John A. Ritscher, Esq. Ropes and Gray 225 Franklin Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

· . . '

cc:

Mr. Bruce B. Beckley, Project Manager Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 01830

Robert Backus, Esq. Backus, Meyer and Solomon 116 Lowell Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Diane Curran, Esq. Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, NW Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Philip Ahren, Esq. Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Mr. Edward A. Brown, President and Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Ms. Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. T. Feigenbaum Public Service Company of New Hamsphire Post Office Box 330 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

E. Tupper Kinder, Esq. G. Dana Bisbee, Esq. Assistant Attorney General Office of Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, New Hampshire 03301 Resident Inspector US Nuclear Regulatory Commission Post Office Box 1149 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 Mr. A. M. Ebner, Project Manager United Engineers & Constructors Post Office Box 8223 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19101 Steven Oleskey, Esq. Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place P.O. Box 330 Boston, Massachusetts 02108 Carol S. Sneider, Esq. Office of the Assistant Attorney General One Ashburton Place P.O. Box 330 Boston, Massachusetts 02108 D. Pierre G. Cameron, Jr., Esq. General Counsel Public Service Company of New Hampshire Manchester, New Hampshire 03105 Mr. James M. Peschel Public Service Company of New Hamsphire P.O.Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406 Ashod N. Amirian, Esq.

Town Counsel for Merrimac 376 Main Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 08130

Seabrook Nuclear Power Station

## SEABROOK ATWS RULE 10 NO.64482

.

## DISTRIBUTION

.

1

Docket File NRC&Local PDRs PDI-3 r/f SVarga BBoger MRushbrook VNerses OGC EJordan BGrimes ACRS(10) RWessman JPartlow JSniezek TMurley JWiggins,Rgn.I