Docket: 40-8768 License: SUA-1387

Sequoyah Fuels Corporation

ATTN: Dr. J. C. Stauter, Director Nuclear Licensing & Regulations

P.O. Box 25861

Oklahoma City, OK 73125

Gentlemen:

This letter is to inform you of recent and impending changes in the NRC Region IV Office, located in Arlington, Texas. The last of these changes become effective October 11, 1987, and involve restructuring Region IV to augment its management team and make its organization more in line with that of the larger NRC regions (Regions I, II, III).

These changes will have a minimal impact on Region IV fuel facility, uranium recovery, and materials licensees. The structure of the Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards (enclosure 1), which is responsible for those programs, remains unchanged except that the Uranium Recovery Field Office, which had previously reported directly to the Regional Administrator, now will be part of the Division organization. Existing points of contact for fuel facility, uranium recovery, and materials licensees will not be changed by the new organization.

The most significant changes in the Region IV Office relate to nuclear power plant regulation. Two new divisions (enclosure 2) are being created to replace the Division of Reactor Safety and Projects. The first is the Division of Reactor Projects, which will be responsible for the implementation and coordination of all Region IV management activities for nuclear power and research reactor facilities. The second will be the Division of Reactor Safety, which will have responsibility for implementing Region IV nuclear reactor inspection programs in various engineering and human factors disciplines.

In addition to these changes in organizational structure, various management personnel actions have taken place. These actions include the appointment of John M. Montgomery as Deputy Regional Administrator; the appointment of Ramon E. Hall as Deputy Director, Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards; the appointment of Leonard J. Callan as Director and Arthur B. Beach as Deputy Director, Division of Reactor Projects; and the appointment of James L. Milhoan as Director, Division of Reactor Safety.

RIV:TA JBBaird:cd 10/ /87 D:DRSS RLBangart 10% /87 NOO!

If you should have any questions regarding the impact of these changes on your NRC licensed activities, please don't hesitate to contact me or Mr. Ramon E. Hall of my staff.

> Original Signed by: R. L. BANGART

Richard L. Bangart, Director Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards

2 Enclosures: As stated

Oklahoma Radiation Control Program Director

bcc w/enclosures: DMB - M006

Docket File: 40-8768

R. D. Martin R. L. Bangart W. H. Foster

L. Callan

J. Milhoan W. L. Fisher

L. A. Yandell R. E. Cunningham, NMSS

M. Knapp, NMSS



