Mr. Neil S. Carns Senior Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer Northeast Nuclear Energy Company c/o Ms. Patricia A. Loftus Director - Regulatory Affairs P.O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

SUBJECT: MILLSTONE NUCLEAR POWER STATION, UNIT 3 - CORRECTION TO AMENDMENT NO. 122 (TAC NO. M92203)

Dear Mr. Carns:

By letter dated December 28, 1995, the Commission issued Amendment No. 122 to Facility Operating License No. NPF-49 for the Millstone Nuclear Power Station, Unit 3, in response to your application dated May 1, 1995. As part of the amendment, Technical Specification (TS) page 1-8 (Table 1.1) was revised. We have recently become aware that this page should not have been included in the revision. In the May 1, 1995, application, you stated that the change to Table 1.1 did not stand-alone and that it was being submitted in advance. You further stated that future proposals will provide justification for changing each of the surveillances with a frequency of 18-months. Since additional 15 surveillance changes are needed to complete the conversion to a 24-month fuel cycle, this page should not have been issued with Amendment No. 122. Enclosed is the original TS page 1-8.

Sincerel yoriginal Signed Ly1

James W. Andersen, Project Manager Special Projects Office - Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket No. 50-423

Enclosure: As stated

cc w/encl: See next page

DISTRIBUTION: Docket File PUBLIC SPO-L Reading SPO Reading WTravers PMcKee LBerry JAndersen OGC GHill (2) WBeckner ACRS JDurr, RI

DOCUMENT NAME: G:\ANDERSEN\CORRECT.122 To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box; "C" = Copy without attachment/enclosure "N" =

OFFICE	SPO-L:PM	SPO-L:LA DA (SPO-A:DD	OGC BB	The second s
NAME	JAndersen ka	LBerry XM	PMcKee	R. B. ashim	
DATE	09/17/97	09/14/97	09/0-497	09/18/97	09/ /97

9710080118 971002 PDR ADOCK 05000423 PDR ADOCK 05000423 OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

MRC FILE CENTER COP

Northeast Nuclear Energy Company

CC:

Lillian M. Cuoco, Esquire Senior Nuclear Counsel Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, CT 06141-0270

Mr. Kevin T. A. McCarthy, Director Monitoring and Radiation Division Department of Environmental Protection 79 Elm Street Hartford, CT 06106-5127

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, PA 19406

First Selectmen Town of Waterford Hall of Records 200 Boston Post Road Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. Wayne D. Lanning Deputy Director of Inspections Special Projects Office 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, PA 19406-1415

Michael H. Brothers Vice President - Millstone Unit 3 Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. M. R. Scully, Executive Director Connecticut Municipal Electric Energy Cooperative 30 Stott Avenue Norwich, CT 06360

Mr. David Amerine Recovery Officer - Nuclear Engineering and Support Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, Connecticut 06385 Millstone Nuclear Power Station Unit 3

Mr. William D. Meinert Nuclear Engineer Massachusetts Municipal Wholesale Electric Company P. O. Box 426 Ludlow, MA 01056

Joseph R. Egan, Esquire Egan & Associates, P.C. 2300 N Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20037

Mr. F. C. Rothen Vice President - Nuclear Work Services Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Ernest C. Hadley, Esquire 1040 B Main Street P. O. Box 549 West Wareham, MA 02576

Mr. John Buckingham Department of Public Utility Control Electric Unit 10 Liberty Square New Britain, CT 06051

Mr. James S. Robinson Manager, Nuclear Investments and Administration New England Power Company 25 Research Drive Westborough, MA 01582

Mr. D. M. Goebel Vice President - Nuclear Oversight Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Northeast Nuclear Energy Company

CC:

+ 8

6

Deborah Katz, President Citizens Awareness Network P. O. Box 83 Shelburne Falls, MA 03170

Senior Resident Inspector Millstone Nuclear Power Station c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 513 Niantic, CT 06357

Mr. Allan Johanson, Assistant Director Office of Policy and Management Policy Development and Planning Division 450 Capitol Avenue - MS# 52ERN P. O. Box 341441 Hartford, CT 06134-1441

Citizens Regulatory Commission ATTN: Ms. Susan Perry Luxton 180 Great Neck Road Waterford, Connecticut 06385

The Honorable Terry Concannon Co-Chair Nuclear Energy Advisory Council Room 4035 Legislative Office Building Capitol Avenue Hartford, Connecticut 06106

Mr. Evan W. Woollacott Co-Chair Nuclear Energy Advisory Council 128 Terry's Flain Road Simsbury, Connecticut 06070

Little Harbor Consultants, Inc. Millstone - ITPOP Project Office P. O. Box 0630 Niantic, Connecticut 06357-0630 Millstone Nuclear Power Station Unit 3

Mr. B. D. Kenyon President and Chief Executive Officer Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. Daniel L. Curry Project Director Parsons Power Group Inc. 2675 Morgantown Road Reading, Pennsylvania 19607

Mr. Don Schopfer Verification Team Manager Sargent & Lundy 55 E. Monroe Street Chicago, Illinois 60603

Ċ,