July 28, 1999

Carolina Power and Light Company ATTN: Mr. J. S. Keenan Vice President Brunswick Steam Electric Plant P. O. Box 10429 Southport, NC 28461

SUBJECT:

MEETING SUMMARY - PUBLIC MEETING PRESENTATION OF PLANT PERFORMANCE REVIEW RESULTS FOR BRUNSWICK NUCLEAR PLANT (BNP) - DOCKET NOS. 50-325/324

Dear Mr. Keenan:

This refers to a proceeding conducted on July 20, 1999, to present the results of the periodic Plant Performance Review for your Brunswick facility for the period of May 1997, to January 1999. A list of attendees is enclosed.

It is our opinion that this meeting was beneficial in that it provided the NRC the opportunity to listen to your assessment of performance for the Brunswick facility and to present the results of the Plant Performance Review assessment for the facility to management and to members of the public.

In accordance with Section 2.790(a) of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," Part 2, Title 10, Code of Federal Regulations, a copy of this letter and its enclosure will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

Should you have any questions concerning this meeting, please contact me at (404) 562-4560.

Sincerely,

(Orginial signed by B. R. Bonser)

Brian R. Bonser, Chief Reactor Projects Branch 4 Division of Reactor Projects

Docket Nos. 50-325, 50-324 License Nos. DPR-71, DPR-62

cc w/encl: (See page 2)

te4511

9908030050 990728 PDR ADOCK 05000324 P PDR Enclosure: List of Attendees

cc w/encl:
Director of Site Operations
Brunswick Steam Electric Plant
Carolina Power & Light Company
P. O. Box 10429
Southport, NC 28461

J. J. Lyash, Plant Manager Brunswick Steam Electric Plant Carolina Power & Light Company P. O. Box 10429 Southport, NC 28461

Terry C. Morton, Manager Performance Evaluation and Regulatory Affairs CPB 9 Carolina Power & Light Company P. O. Box 1551 Raleigh, NC 27602-1551

K. R. Jury, Manager Regulatory Affairs Carolina Power & Light Company Brunswick Steam Electric Plant P. O. Box 10429 Southport, NC 28461-0429

William D. Johnson Vice President & Corporate Secretary Carolina Power and Light Company P. O. Box 1551 Raleigh, NC 27602

John H. O'Neill, Jr. Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge 2300 N. Street, NW Washington, DC 20037-1128

Mel Fry, Director
Division of Radiation Protection
N. C. Department of Environment
and Natural Resources
3825 Barrett Drive
Raleigh, NC 27609-7721

Karen E. Long Assistant Attorney General State of North Carolina P. O. Box 629 Raleigh, NC 27602

Robert P. Gruber Executive Director Public Staff NCUC P. O. Box 29520 Raleigh, NC 27626-0520

Public Service Commission State of South Carolina P. O. Box 11649 Columbia, SC 29211

Jerry W. Jones, Chairman Brunswick County Board of Commissioners P. O. Box 249 Bolivia, NC 28422

Dan E. Summers
Emergency Management Coordinator
New Hanover County Department of
Emergency Management
P. O. Box 1525
Wilmington, NC 28402

William H. Crowe, Mayor City of Southport 201 E. Moore Street Southport, NC 28451

Distribution w/encl: (See page 3)

Distribution w/encl:

W. Dean, NRR

T. Boyce, NRR

C. Thomas, NRR

A. Hansen, NRR

G. Tracy, EDO

B. Bonser, RII

PUBLIC

NRC Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 8470 River Road SE Southport, NC 28461

OFFICE	DRP/RII					T		T		7		T	
SIGNATURE	142/West							1					
NAME	GWest:vyg				ON 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10	1	-	1		1		1	
DATE	7/28/99	71	/99	71	/99	7/	/99	7/	/99	7/	/99	7/	/99
COPY?	(YES) NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

DOCUMENT NAME: G:\Brunswick\MEETINGS\072099.sum

List of Attendees

NRC Attendees

Brian Bonser, Chief, Reactor Projects Branch 4, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP), Region II, (Panelist)

Ted Easlick, Senior Resident Inspector, Brunswick Nuclear Plant, DRP, RII (Panelist) Eva Brown, Resident Inspector, Brunswick Nuclear Plant, DRP, RII (Panelist) Gene Guthrie, Resident Inspector, Brunswick Nuclear Plant, DRP, RII (Panelist) Roger Hannah, Public Affairs Officer, RII

Licensee Attendees

Jack Keenan (Panelist)
Jeff Lyash (Panelist)
Garry Miller (Panelist)
Bo Lindgren (Panelist)
Warren Dorman (Panelist)
Neil Gannon

Winnie Harrison Hal Wall

Scotty Hinnant John Titrington

John Becker John Bass

Mark Grantham

Fred King

Kendall Jones

Ann Mary Carley

Mike Alford

Tom Shortell

Jackie Gawron

Jim Thompson

Chris Patterson

Harlee Bordeaux

Ralph Mullis Max Herrell Allen Brittain Richard Bissett Pete Jordan Robert Creech Steve Tabor Steve Taylor

Kent Crocker Danny Holder

Public Attendees

Cecil Logan, Brunswick County Emergency Preparedness Brenda Coffey, New Hanover County Emergency Preparedness Nancy Moore, New Hanover County Emergency Preparedness Johnny James, North Carolina Division of Radiation Protection Joan Altman, Mayor, Oak Island, NC Two Representatives, Carolina Beach, NC