Duke Energy Corporation



H. B. Barron Vice President McGuire Nu 22ar Station 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, NC 28078-9340 (704) 875-4800 OFFICE (704) 875-4809 FAX

July 15, 1999

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Document Control Desk Washington, D.C. 20555

Subject: McGuire Nuclear Station, Unit 2 Docket No. 50-370 Licensee Event Report 370/99-03, Revision 0 Problem Investigation Process No. 2-M-99-2905

Pursuant to 10 CFR 50.73 Sections (a) (1) and (d), attached is Licensee Event Report 370/99-03, Revision 0, concerning an inadvertent actuation of the Unit 2 turbine driven Auxiliary Feedwater pump (TDAFWP). This report is being submitted in accordance with 10 CFR 50.73 (a) (2) (iv). This event is considered to be of no significance with respect to the health and safety of the public.

A supplement to this report is planned to be submitted by September 16, 1999. Duke Energy believes that interim corrective actions described in this report are sufficient to prevent recurrence. However, a cause analysis is continuing to evaluate this event and to develop permanent corrective actions which will prevent recurrence. The supplement will provide any regulatory commitments associated with these additional corrective actions. There are no regulatory commitments in this correspondence.

Very truly yours,

1 An Baum

H. B. Barron, Jr.

Attachment

cc: L. A. Reyes U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region II

> Atlanta Federal Center 61 Forsyth St., SW, Suite 23T85 Atlanta, GA 30323

F. Rinaldi U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation Washington, D.C. 20555 INPO Records Center 700 Galleria Parkway Atlanta, GA 30339 (Sent Electronically)

S. Shaeffer NRC Resident Inspector McGuire Nuclear Station

9907220219 990715 PDR ADOCK 05000370 S PDR

Electronic Distribution:

Barbara L. Walsh (EC11C) Jimmy I. Glenn (MG02ME) Braxton L. Peele (MG01VP) Guynn H. Savage (EC06G) Gregg B. Swindlehurst (EC11-0842) Charles M. Misenheimer (ECOSI) Ronald F. Cole (EC05N) Richard J. Freudenberger (EC05N) Tim G. Becker (EC01T) P.M. Abraham (ECO8I) Ronnie B. White (MG01VP) Richard T. Bond (ON03SR) Kay L. Crane (MG01RC) Gary D. Gilbert (CN01RC) Jack Burchfield (ON03RC) Vickie McGinnis (MG05SE) Randy Moose (MG01VP) Mary J. Brown (PB02L) Alan L. Hincher (MG01B1) Robert E. Riegel (MG03MT) Luellen B. Jones (EC050) Mike Rains (MG01SR) Lisa Vaughn (PB05E) Ashok Bhatnagar (MG010P) Charles J. Thomas (EC050) Steve Beagles (CN05SR)

Pat Cox: NSRB Support Staff (EC05N)

INPO

Paper Distribution:

Master File (3.3.7) ELL (EC050) Regulatory Compliance LER File