NOV 7 1984

Docket No. 50-289

GPU Nuclear Corporation
ATTN: Mr. H. D. Hukill
Director, TMI-1
P. O. Box 480
Middletown, Pennsylvania 17057

Gentlemen:

Subject: Inspection 50-289/84-19

This refers to the inspection conducted by this office August 27 - 30, 1984, at Three Mile Island, Unit 1, (TMI-1) and the subsequent discussion of our findings he'd by Mr. N. Dudley of the NRC staff with Mr. S. Newton of your staff. This effort was conducted to evaluate the adequacy of the additional requalification training you proposed in your letter to Dr. Murley dated May 14, 1984. The additional requalification training was in response to our letter dated April 13, 1984, which forwarded the results of an Operational Readiness Evaluation performed February 8 - 9, 1984 at TMI-1.

The present evaluation consisted of a review of the training and quizzes conducted during Licensed Operator Requalification Training Cycle 84-2 and 84-3. The scope and content of our evaluation is discussed in the enclosed report.

Based on the results of this effort it was determined that operators had received adequate training in all areas of concern with two exceptions. We believe additional training is required in the areas of predicting nuclear instrumentation response from subcriticality to criticality and the area of the Electro Hydraulic Control System. Based on our discussions with your staff, it is my understanding that a plan for upgrading these two knowledge areas is being developed. Please notify us when that training is completed. We plan to inspect these areas to evaluate the adequacy of the training.

Within the scope of this inspection, no violations were observed.

Your cooperation with us in this matter is appreciated.

Sincerely,

Original Signed By:

Richard W. Starostecki, Director Division of Project and Resident Programs

Enclosure: NRC Region I Inspection Report Number 50-289/84-19

> OFFICIAL RECORD COPY PDR ADOCK 05000289

INSPECTION 50-289/84-19 - 0005.0.0 09/11/84

cc w/encl:

R. J. Toole, Operations and Maintenance Director, TMI-1

C. W. Smyth, Manager, TMI-1 Licensing J. S. Wetmore, Manager, PWR Licensing

J. B. Liberman, Esquire G. F. Trowbridge, Esquire TMI-1 Hearing Service List Public Document Room (PDR)

Local Public Document Room (LPDR)

Nuclear Safety Information Center (NSIC)

NRC Resident Inspector Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Ms. Mary V. Southard, Co-Chairman, Citizens for a Safe Environment (Without Report)

bcc w/encl:

Region I Docket Room (with concurrences)
W. D. Travers, Deputy Program Director, TMI Program Office
J. Goldberg, OELD:HQ
Senior Operations Officer (w/o encl)
DPRP Section Chief
J. Van Vliet, PM. NRR

RI:DPRP Dudley/meo:djh

10/1/84

RI:DPRP Baunack

10/9/84

RI:DPRP Conner

10/9/84

18/3/84

RI: DBRP

RI:DPRP

RI:DPRP

AND ...

11-3

11-3

,

TMI-1 Hearing Service List

Administrative Judge
Gary J. Edles, Chairman
Atomic Safety & Licensing
Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Administrative Judge John H. Buck Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Administrative Judge Christine N. Kohl Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Atomic Safety & Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Docketing & Service Section (3) Office of the Secretary U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Henry D. Hukill Vice President GPU Nuclear Corporation Post Office Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Michael F. McBride, Esquire LeBouef, Lamb, Leiby & MacRae 1333 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W. Suite 1100 Washington, D.C. 20036

Ms. Louise Bradford TMI ALERT 1011 Green Street Harrisburg, PA 17102 Administrative Judge Ivan W. Smith, Chairman Atomic Safety & Licensing Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Michael W. Maupin, Esquire Hunton & Williams 707 East Main Street Post Office Box 1535 Richmond, VA 23212

Administrative Judge
Gustave A. Linenberger, Jr.
Atomic Safety & Licensing Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Administrative Judge Sheldon J. Wolfe Atomic Safety & Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Jordan D. Cunningham, Esquire Fox, Farr & Cunningham 2320 North Second Street Harrisburg, PA 17110

Ellyn R. Weiss, Esquire (1) Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 2001 S. Street, N.W. Suite 340 Washington, D.C. 20009

Mr. Steven C. Sholly Union of Concerned Scientists 1346 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. Dupont Circle Bldg., Suite 1101 Washington, D.C. 20036 Operations 50-289

Ms. Marjorie Aamodt R.D. 5 Coatesville, PA 19320

Lynne Bernabei, Esquire Government Accountability Project 1555 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20009

George F. Trowbridge, Esquire Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge 1800 M Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20036

Mr. Thomas Gerusky Bureau of Radiation Protection Department of Environmental Resources P.O. Box 2063 Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120

Thomas Y. Au, Esquire
Office of Chief Counsel
Department of Environmental Resources
P.O. Box 2063
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120

Mr. Marvin I. Lewis 6504 Bradford Terrace Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19149

Mr. C. W. Smyth, Manager Licensing, TMI-1 Three Mile Island Nuclear Station P.O. Box 480 Middletown, Pennsylvania 17057 Chauncy Kepford
Judith H. Johnsrud
Environmental Coalition on Nuclear Power
433 Orlando Avenue
State College, PA 16801

William S. Jordan, III, Esquire Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 2001 S Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Ms. Frieda Berryhill, Chairman Coalition for Nuclear Power Plant Postponement 2610 Grendon Drive Wilmington, Delaware 19808

Judge Reginald L. Gotchy
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. Lawrence R. Quarles
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Ms. Jane Lee RD 3, Box 3521 Etters, Pennsylvania 17319

Allen R. Carter, Chairman Joint Legislative Committee on Energy Post Office Box 142 Suite 513 Senate Gressette Building Columbia, South Carolina 29202