Docket No. 50-456

Commonwealth Edison Company ATTN: Mr. Cordell Reed Vice President Post Office Box 767 Chicago, IL 60690

Gentlemen:

This refers to the routine safety inspection conducted by Messrs. T. E. Vandel and T. E. Taylor of this office on May 19-22, 27-30, June 2-13, and July 10-11, 1986, of activities at the Braidwood Nuclear Power Station, Unit 1, authorized by NRC Construction Permit No. CPPR-132 and to the discussion of our findings with Mr. C. W. Schroeder and others at the conclusion of the inspection.

The enclosed copy of our inspection report identifies areas examined during the inspection. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of a selective examination of procedures and representative records, observations, and interviews with personnel.

During this inspection, certain of your activities appeared to be in violation of NRC requirements, as specified in the enclosed Notice. A written response is required.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the Commission's regulations, a copy of this letter, the enclosures, and your response to this letter will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

The responses directed by this letter and the accompanying Notice are not subject to the clearance procedures of the Office of Management and Budget as required by the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1980, PL 96-511.

We will gladly discuss any questions you have concerning this inspection.

Sincerely,

J. J. Harrison, Chief Engineering Branch

and the die de Haratson

Enclosures:

Notice of Violation
Inspection Report

No. 50-456/86025(DRS)

See Attached Distribution

Vandel/kst Tay 8608070122 860731 PDR ADOCK 05000456

Q

RIII

RIII W Hawkins Gardner Gardner Harrison

1)

Distribution

cc w/enclosures: D. L. Farrar, Director of Nuclear Licensing M. Wallace, Project Manager D. Shamblin, Construction Superintendent E. E. Fitzpatrick, Station Manager P. L. Barnes, Regulatory Assurance Supervisor DCS/RSB (RIDS) Licensing Fee Management Branch Resident Inspector, RIII Braidwood Resident Inspector, RIII Byron Phyllis Dunton, Attorney General's Office, Environmental Control Division D. W. Cassel, Jr., Esq. J. W. McCaffrey, Chief, Public Utilities Division H. S. Taylor, Quality Assurance Division E. Chan, ELD J. Moore, ELD G. Berry, ELD J. Stevens, NRR The Honorable Herbert Grossman, ASLB The Honorable A. Dixon Callihan, ASLB

The Honorable Richard F. Cole, ASLB