June 9, 1988

Docket No. 50-443 50-444

MEMORANDUM FOR:

Richard Wessman, Director

Project Directorate I-3

Division of Reactor Projects I/II

FROM:

Donald S. Brinkman, Senior Project Manager

Project Directorate I-3

Division of Reactor Projects I/II

SUBJECT:

FORTHCOMING MEETING* WITH PUBLIC SERVICE

COMPANY OF NEW HAMPSHIRE TO DISCUSS RESOLUTION OF

INSPECTION REPORT UNRESOLVED ITEM

DATE & TIME:

Friday, July 8, 1988 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

LOCATION:

Altran Corporation 184 High Street Boston, Massachusetts

PURPOSE:

To discuss the concrete cracking issue at Seabrook Station

reported in Inspection Report No. 50-443/87-07 and

discussed in licensee's submittal dated April 21, 1988.

*PARTICIPANTS:

NRC

BNL

Dr. Charles Miller

PSNH-NHY R. White ALTRAN

Dr. S. Tumminelli Dr. T. Esselman

A. Cerne

N. Romney

D. Brinkman

Dr. Morris Reich

B. Brown

R. Sweeney, et al. J. Flaherty

D. Jeng, et al.

Original signed by:

Donald S. Brinkman, Senior Project Manager

Project Directorate I-3

Division of Reactor Projects I/II

cc: See next page

*Meetings between NRC technical staff and applicants or licensees are open for interested members of the public, petitioners, intervenors, or other parties to attend as observers pursuant to "Open Meeting Statement of NRC Staff Policy," 43 Federal Register 28058, 6/28/78. Those interested in attending this meeting should make their intentions known to D. Brinkman at (301) 492-1429, by no later than July 5, 1988. Prior authorization is needed for admitting cameras, copying devices, recording devices, and radio transmitters.

OFC :PDI-37 //	:PDI-3	:PDI-3/DIR) :	:	:		
NAME : DBrynkman:	ck:MRyamprook	:RWes sman				1	
DATE :6/9/88	:6/ 9/88	:6/4/88			<u> </u>		

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Distribution: Docket File NRC & Local PDRs PDI-3 r/f TMurley/JSniezek FMiraglia RWessman BBoger DBrinkman WLanning OGC Receptionist ACerne NRomney DJeng, et al. ACRS (10) PGA/PA **VWilson** BKolostyak HBClayton (Region I) Mr. Robert J. Harrison Public Service Company of New Hampshire

Seahrnok Nuclear Power Station

cc:

Thomas Dignan, Esq.
John A. Ritscher, Esq.
Ropes and Gray
225 Franklin Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Mr. Bruce B. Beckley, Project Manager Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 08139

Robert Backus, Esq.
Backus, Meyer and Solomon
116 Lowell Street
Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Diane Curran, Esq. Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, NW Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Philip Ahren, Esq. Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Mr. Warren Hall Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Ms. Jane Doughty Seacost Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 E. Tupper Kinder, Esq.
G. Dana Bisbee, Esq.
Assistant Attorney General
Office of Attorney General
208 State House Annex
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Resident Inspector US Nuclear Regulatory Commission Post Office Box 1149 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. A. M. Ebner, Project Manager United Engineers & Constructors Post Office Box 8223 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19101

Steven Oleskay, Esq.
Office of the Attorney General
One Ashburton Place
P.O. Box 330
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Carol S. Sneider, Esq.
Office of the Assistant Attorney General
One Ashburton Place
P.O. Box 330
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

D. Pierre G. Cameron, Jr., Esq. General Counsel Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

New Hampshire Civil Defense Agency 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301 CC:

Mr. Calvin A. Canney, City Manager City Hall Chairman 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Board of Selectmen RFD Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Ms. Roberta C. Pevear Town of Hampton Falls, New Hampshire Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, New Hampshire 03844

Mr. Guy Chichester, Chaiman Rye Nuclear Intervention Committee c/o Rye Town Hall East Kingston, New Hampshire 03827

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

R. Scott Hill - Whilton Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton & McGuire 79 State Street Newburyport, Ma. 01950

Ms. R. Cashman, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Honorable Peter J. Matthews Mayor, City of Newburyport City Hall Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. Donald E. Chick, Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823 Mr. Alfred V. Sargent,

Board of Selectmen Town of Salisbury, MA 01950

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey ATTN: Tom Burack 531 Hart Senate Office Building U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Mr. Owen B. Durgin, Chairman Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Ms. Sandra Gavut's RDF 1 10 Central Road Rye, New Hampshire 03870

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission
825 North Capital Street, NE
Room 8105
Washington, D. C. 20426

Mr. R. Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Mr. Richard Strome, Director State Civil Defense Agency State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Adjudicatory File (2)
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board
Panel Docket
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555