JAMES E. TIERNEY
ATTORNEY GENERAL



STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL STATE HOUSE STATION 6 AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333

April 29, 1986

Victor Nerses, Senior Project Manager PWR Project Directorate No. 5 Division of PWR Licensing-A United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Re: Your memorandum dated April 21, 1986 regarding proposed Seabrook meetings

Dear Mr. Nerses:

Our office has received your April 21 memorandum, a copy of which I have enclosed with this letter, regarding unresolved licensing issues for the proposed Seabrook nuclear power facility.

It is my understanding that notices of specific meetings will be provided to our office in a timely fashion. Is your memorandum intended to notify us that you may be having meetings with Seabrook officials at any time between April 30 and June 30 and that no further notice is required? While I am sure that you could not mean that your April 21 memorandum provides sufficient notice of such meetings, I thought it would be useful to confirm that our office will continue to receive timely and specific notices of all meetings.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Very truly yours,

PHILIP AHRENS

Deputy Attorney General

PA/d

cc: Seabrook service list

3001



UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

APR 2 1 1006

Docket Nos.: 50-443

and

50-444

MEMORANDUM FOR:

Vincent S. Noonan, Director.

PWR Project Directorate No. 5, DPLA

FROM:

Victor Nerses, Senior Project Manager PWR Project Directorate No. 5, DPLA

SUBJECT:

NOTICE OF MEETING REGARDING UNRESOLVED SEABROOK

LICENSING ISSUES IN THE SAFETY REVIEW

DATE & TIME:

April 30, 1986 through June 30, 1986

Specific dates and times as required

LOCATION:

Phillips Building

Bethesda, MD

PURPOSE:

Determine what staff requirements remain to be met

to resolve Seabrook licensing issues prior to

issuing operating license.

AGENDA:

As required, applicant representatives meet with the Project Manager to determine what actions must be completed to resolve Seabrook licensing issues before the license can be issued. Discussions will be held with staff reviewers to clarify NRC requirements. The applicant will forward, as necessary, by letter or FSAR amendment all information generated as a result of

these meetings.

PARTICIPANTS:

NRC Staff

V. Nerses, et al.

PSCNH

D. Maidrand, R. Sweeney, et al.

Victor Nerses, Senior Project Manager PWR Project Directorate No. 5

Division of PWR Licensing-A

exter nerses

NOTE:

NRC meetings are open to interested members of the public to attend as observers. Members of the public who wish to attend

these meetings must contact V. Nerras (301-492-8535).

Mr. Robert J. Harrison Public Service Company of New Hampshire

Seabrook Nuclear Power Station

cc: Thomas Dignan, Esq. John A. Ritscher, Esq. Ropes and Gray 225 Franklin Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Mr. Bruce B. Beckley, Project Manager Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 01839

Robert A. Backus, Esq. O'Neil, Backus and Spielman 116 Lowell Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

William S. Jordan, III Diane Curran Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 20001 S Street, NW Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Mr. Philip Ahrens, Esq. Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Mr. Warren Hall
Public Service Company of
New Hampshire
Post Office Box 330
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League Ms. Jane Doughty 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Richard Hampe, Esq. New Hampshire Civil Defense Agency 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301 E. Tupper Kinder, Esq. G. Dana Bisbee, Esq. Assistant Attorney General Office of Attorney General 208 State Hosue Annex Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Resident Inspector Seabrook Nuclear Power Station c/o US Nuclear Regulatory Commission Post Office Box 700 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. John DeVincentis, Director Engineering and Licensing Yankee Atomic Electric Company 1671 Worchester Road Framingham, Massachusetts 01701

Mr. A. M. Ebner, Project Manager United Engineers & Constructors 30 South 17th Street Post Office Box 8223 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19101

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esq.
Office of the Assistant Attorney General
Environmental Protection Division
One Ashburton Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

D. Pierre G. Cameron, Jr., Esq. General Counsel Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 631 Park Avenue King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406 cc: Mr. Calvin A. Canney, City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Ms. Letty Hett Town of Brentwood RFD Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Ms. Roberta C. Pevear Town of Hampton Falls, New Hampshire Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, New Hampshire 03844

Ms. Sandra Gavutis Town of Kensington, New Hampshire RDF 1 East Kingston, New Hampshire 03827

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

Mr. Angie Machiros, Chairman Board of Selectmen for the Town of Newbury Newbury, Massachusetts 01950

Ms. Cashman, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Honorable Peter J. Matthews Mayor, City of Newburyport Office of the Mayor City Hall Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. Donald E. Chick, Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823 Mr. Alfred V. Sargent, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Salisbury, MA 01950

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey ATTN: Tom Burack U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Mr. Owen B. Durgin, Chairman Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Charles Cross, Esq.
Shaines, Mardrigan and
McEaschern
25 Maplewood Avenue
Post Office Box 366
Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. Guy Chichester, Chaiman Rye Nuclear Intervention Committee c/o Rye Town Hall 10 Central Road Rye, New Hampshire 03870

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission
825 North Capital Street, NE
Room 8105
Washington, D. C. 20426

Mr. R. Sweeney
New Hampshire Yankee Division
Public Service of New Hampshire
Company
7910 Woodmont Avenue
Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Mr. William B. Derrickson Senior Vice President Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 700, Route 1 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874