Docket No. 50-454 Docket No. 50-455 Docket No. 50-456 Docket No. 50-457

Commonwealth Edison Company ATTN: Mr. Cordell Reed Senior Vice President Post Office Box 767 Chicago, IL 60690

Gentlemen:

This refers to the routine safety inspection conducted by Mr. F. Maura of this office on May 9-19, 1988, of the actions taken regarding previous inspection and SER items at Byron Station, Units 1 and 2, and at Braidwood Station, Unit 1 authorized by NRC Operating Licenses No. NPF-37, NPF-66, and NPF-72 and to the discussion of our findings with Mr. P. Barnes at the Braidwood Station and Mr. R. Ward at the Byron Station at the conclusion of the inspection.

The enclosed copy of our inspection report identifies areas examined during the inspection. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of a selective examination of procedures and representative records, observations, and interviews with personnel.

No violations of NRC requirements were identified during the course of this inspection.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the Commission's regulations, a copy of this letter and the enclosed inspection report will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

We will gladly discuss any questions you have concerning this inspection.

Sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY GEOFFREY C. WRIGHT

Geoffrey C. Wright, Chief Operations Branch

Enclosure: Inspection Reports

No. 50-454/88008(DRS); No. 50-455/88008(DRS); and No. 50-456/88016(DRS)

See Attached Distribution

Maura/jaw

8806150260 880602 PDR ADUCK 05000454

Hillips

RIII en Hinds

RIII Wright 2601

cc w/enclosure: T. J. Maiman, Vice President, PWR Operations H. Bliss, Nuclear Licensing Manager M. Wallace, Manager of Projects M. Lohmann, Project Construction and Startup Superintendent W. Vahle, Construction Superintendent R. E. Querio, Station Manager R. Pleniewicz, Station Manager P. L. Barnes, Regulatory Assurance Supervisor UCD/DCB (RIDS) Licensing Fee Management Branch Resident Inspector, RIII Braidwood Resident Inspector, RIII Byron D. W. Cassel, Jr., Esq. Richard Hubbard . W. McCaffrey, Chief, Public Utilities Division H. S. Taylor, Quality Assurance Division E. Chan, OGC G. Berry, OGC Stephen P. Sands, NRR L. Olshan, NRR LPM Diane Chavez, DAARE/SAFE The Honorable A. Dixon Callinan, ASLB The Honorable Richard F. Cole, ASLB The Honorable Ivan W. Smith, ASLB The Honorable Gary J. Edles, ASLAP The Honorable Dr. W. Reed Johnson, ASLAP

The Honorable Christine N. Kohl, ASLAP